Question Total noob needs help with a system

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Sands2038, Jul 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Sands2038

Sands2038
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, I have inherited a stack of audio equipment from my uncle, as well as a big box of vinyl. I'd like to be able to listen to the records without purchasing much if any new equipment and I'm hoping someone could help me out. I'm pretty sure this was never a full system, he did have a modern system which I'm presuming went to someone else. There are no cables other than power, and I'm only presuming that everything works.

We have:

Phonic MQ3400 Dual 15 Band Rack Mount EQ

x2 Yamaha P4050 power amps (4 channels)

Apart PA4060 4x60W Power Amplifier

NAD C162 Pre Amplifier

Tapco Mix. 100

Numark TT1650 turntable

x2 Mackie MR8 Active Studio Monitor

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer me

2. dannnielll

dannnielll

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +931
    Looks like an interesting mix.
    Attach turntable to mains, turn it on and see if it rotates.
    . See does it have signal out leads , probably RCA connectors .
    See does the NAD preamp have a Phono input , if so connect the RCA connectors to it...
    What connectors has the active speakers ??? . Presumably they have either RCA or headph socket types. What type of output socket has the NAD preamp...you would need to go to Currys and buy overpriced cables to connect both... Then switch on, put the worst vinyl record on and see does it play. All the other stages are just xtensions to this. Once you have a working system you can decide when or if you want to add EQ or the other amplifiers and other?? Speakers.

3. Sands2038

Sands2038
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    • Turntable rotates, we're off to a good start.