Total newbie with a D90 and some questions (surprise, surprise!)

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Matthew Attoe, Feb 8, 2009.

1. Matthew Attoe

Matthew Attoe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi,

I'm new here and a total newbie as far as proper photography goes.

Have been looking for a new hobby that would get me outside a lot with my family and photography seemed to be a good fit.

Decided on a D90 after reading some pretty favourable reviews and it seemed like a camera I would grow in to - didn't really want to have to buy twice :)

Went down to the beach yesterday with my wife and son and took a whole load of pictures. This trip, as it turned out, was a brilliant lesson in how NOT to take good pictures, ha ha. But that's what learning and self-achievement is all about, I reckon. The first thing I have learnt is to switch the grid on in the viewfinder as this will help me keep the horizon level :)

I do have a few questions if I may:

1) How much distortion should I expect through the kit lens (18-105)? I seem to have quite a lot at the extreme ends of the range?

2) Does anyone else think images shot/tagged with the AdobeRGB profile seem unnatural? I found them to be over-saturated and people's faces seem far too warm - like they've been in the sun a bit too long. I found sRGB to have much more natural, life-like colours even though it's a smaller gamut.

I've profiled and calibrated my Apple Cinema Display using ColorEyes Pro software to the UGRA soft-proofing standards and also profiled my Epson R800 with the Epson Premium Glossy Photo Paper (with genuine inks) using Gretag's ProfileMaker 5 software and print using a Relative intent (keeping in gamut colours in gamut) and the AdobeRGB still seem too strong :( But the prints do match the screen pretty well :)