1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total newbie! Which 32" TV should I get?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Adele, Dec 7, 2001.

1. Adele

Adele

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

Was considering starting my foray into home cinema with a Toshiba 32z13B TV (as per my first thread posted), but I'm a bit worried about the general quality of service from Toshiba after all the posts from folk with problems!

As a COMPLETE newcomer to all this, can anyone please offer advice on which 32" set to buy (for under £1000).

Not looking for too much gadgetry - just a really good base on which to build up a decent home cinema system.

At the moment, I have a PS2 (which I'm using as a DVD player for now) and a Sky Digibox. The Digibox is linked into my stereo (a fairly old NAD model) usinf phono connects.

Planning on upgrading to complete surround sound as soon as finances allow!

Pleeeeease help!

2. Darkly

Darkly
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm a newcomer too, heh ;)

But I wouldn't let the Tosh complaints put you off... they sell a *lot* of teles. As do Sony and Panasonic too, but if you look, there are actually a fair few complaints about these 2 companies dotted about this forum too....

Basically I wouldn't sweat it. If that Tosh tele sounds right for you, get it :) Majority of the problems on these forums seem to be with the larger screen TVs anyway, not the 28s and 32s.

3. laurel

laurel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Adele

Your question is quite difficult and subjective to answer, as many things go into making a "good" choice - "looks" for example, not just picture quality (it's gotta match the furniture eh?!!).