Total newbie projection screen question

dazed&confused

Hi

I've always been into my hifi, and also I have a decent 5.1 AV setup which I use with my Panasonic plasma TV, but I know nothing whatsoever about projectors. I'm just about to rearrange the lounge/diner furniture and build some wall units, etc., and I'm toying with the idea of making space for a projector and screen with a future purchase in mind.

What I'd like to know is if my idea is even feasible. The screen would have to be suspended from the ceiling rather than against a wall, as it would need to face the room diagonally, and it would need to be removed when not in use as it would look pretty ridiculous if is was a permeant fixture (obviously there would have to be a couple of permanent brackets in the ceiling, or on top of a couple of adjacent wall units).

So,

1. Is it possible to get a screen that could easily be temporarily hooked onto a couple of ceiling brackets, then pulled down to keep a tight, flat surface when it is in situ, even though it wouldn't have a rigid frame or any anchor points?
2. Would it be a major hassle or long job to line up the projector with the screen each time the screen is brought out to play?
3. Are moderately priced projectors silent enough to be situated just a few feet away from the listening position?
4. What else do I need to consider (I'm presuming I don't need to worry too much about room darkness at this very early stage of the 'planning' process)?

Thanks,

David.

ShanePJ

AVForums Sponsor
Hi

Optoma make pull up screens DP-1095MWL

For one with hooks, you'll see Optoma have instructions on the hook option DS-9092PWC