1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total Newb wanting help!!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Emmodd, Mar 27, 2005.

1. Emmodd

Emmodd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I wanting to build a HTPC for the front room. I want it to be able to record Sky TV (I don't have Sky+), play DVD's (to a good standard to replace my Marantz DVD player), play Divx movies etc, and output at least 5.1 sound. I've seen the Sweetspot Video processor, will this allow me to do what I want? Will I also need showshifter? What else am i likely to need to achieve this? Thanks.

2. MikeTV

MikeTV

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +843
    I think you should go for it! :)

Any HTPC you build should be able to play DVD's (as long as it has some software, a dvd-rom drive, and at least a 1gb CPU) .

The main problem with recording sky is controlling the sky box to change channels at the right time (i.e. sky+/tivo like functionality), which can't be done from a PC, unfortunately. For that, you need sky+. However, if you are happy to set the channel manually before recording, you can record sky with a PC. As an alternative to a PC, you could consider a commerical PVR (~£200?), which would provide much the same function.

One important issue for HTPC's is your display. What kind of TV/display are you planning to use? And how do you intend to connect it to your TV? There are a number of options: TV-out card (cheap and cheerful), VGA-Scart connection (fiddly), VGA->VGA (if your display allows it?), DVI (the bees knees)?