1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total beginner - what's the best projector for my needs?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Steve237, Jul 12, 2005.

1. Steve237

Steve237

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    I am about to move house and would like to have a projector in an entertainment room. The room isn't massive (about 4 metres squared) so I'm thinking about a screen about 1250mm wide.

I want to use the projector for watching Sky TV, DVD's and playing computer games.

I'm the kind of person who likes top quality gadgets (at the right price though!) so want something intermediate to high end; something I won't want to replace a year or two down the line.

I hear Sky are rolling out High Definition TV in the near future so I'll want it to support that.

Now the good news is, I'm going to America for a couple of weeks at the end of August so I'd like to decide what I want now, then pick it up cheap while I'm over there! Would I need a PAL spec projector?

I'm unsure of how much I'm going to spend on this... I suppose I have a figure in mind of around £1000 UK price . Is this about right for what I'm wanting? I hope to spend less if possible.

Any suggestions/pointers/recommendations would be very welcome indeed.:smashin:

Thanks in advance for any assistance :thumbsup:

2. cyberheater

cyberheater

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +175
    1250mm wide :eek:

Wouldn't you be better of with a plasma of LCD tv.

I think you'll be hard pushed to get a projector to throw a decent size image from 2 meters (or less).

Surely a RPTV would be better for you.

3. Steve237

Steve237

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7