1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshibe 36ZP18P connections to Toshiba DVD SD100EE

Discussion in 'TVs' started by £note, Jan 21, 2002.

  1. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    First of all let me say that I am highly delighted with the picture quality of my new tv.

    Now the situation is this:-

    The dvd is connected via an Ixos scart cable to scart 3 on the tv.
    In addition a coax cable is connected from dvd to da-2 on the tv.

    When I look at the AV connection menu I would expect to see digital input-2 to show EXT3, however no sound appears and if I switch to EXT4 all appears well - is this correct ?

    The instruction book states that if I use the tv remote and press the double speaker icon while playing a dvd - The title Dolby Digital x/x - is an indication of the channels available from my current sound source. When I do this while playing "Gladiator" or "Matrix" all I get is the surround sound set up.

    What am I doing wrong ?

    I do not have a separate amp (yet) and other connections to the tv are :-
    Scart 1 - Pace digibox
    Scart 2 - Toshiba video recorder.
    Speakers are those that came with the TV package.

    Thankyou in advance for any replies.

    Regards
    Confused
     
  2. mspiteri

    mspiteri
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe you are correct in your assumptions as to how to set it all up. EXT4 is the component video input, so if your DVD is on Scart 3, you need to route Digital 2 to EXT 3.

    Mark
     
  3. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    Mark thanks for your response, however, I am still in a quandary because :-

    I can view and hear the dvd on EXT3 no indication of digital audio

    EXT4 is blue and indicates digital audio

    If I configure DA-2 to EXT3 I do not get any sound while playing a dvd.

    Can anyone shed any light ?

    Regards
    £note
     
  4. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    Update

    Discovered that no audio signal is being received at the tv !!

    Does this mean that the coaxial cable needs to go through an amp in order to get a signal ?

    New to this lark but I am sure we'll get there

    Regards
    £note
     
  5. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    I presume you have told the dvd player to send a digital signal. By default they are set up to use an rgb scart connection as that is what most people will want.

    However you cant get dd 5.1 without reconfiguring the player as it wont go through the scart.
     
  6. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks Ken

    I have set the dvd output to bitstream.
    Set the tv digital input-2 to EXT3
    Set the tv EXT3 input to AV

    Connection for dvd to tv is via scart to scart3 and an ixos105 digital cable.

    Still no digital signal.

    Regards
    £note
     
  7. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you getting any sound or just not getting 5.1?

    You should have an audio setting for PCM on the DVD which should give you the 5.1 shown on the tele as 3/2.

    I had this on mine (210e to 36ZP18) and I'm pretty sure it was PCM rather than Bitstream that produced the correct sound output.

    Having said that though, if you've no sound at all it's likely to be something else because you should get sound on either setting........

    Cheers
    OG
     
  8. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks OG

    So many permutations and combinations.

    To answer your questions

    I get sound through the scarts when I disconnect the digital audio cable.

    Took your advice and set dvd to PCM - same problem

    In the meantime I substituted an optical cable for the coax again no digital audio.

    Regards
    £note
     
  9. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Checked my settings last night.

    I've got the TV and DVD connected by component (Ext4)and use a Digital Opt cable rather than Coax.

    TV AV Connections Menu

    Digital Input 1 - Ext4
    Digital Input 2 - OFF
    Ext 2 Input - AV
    Ext 3 Input - AV
    Ext 2 Output - TV

    And the DVD is set to BITSTREAM (what was I thinking)

    Now you've got an Optical cable, try this set up substituting Ext 4 for 3.

    Cheers
    OG
     
  10. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    OG - Thanks again for your help.

    Have adapted your settings for both optical and coax cables and still no joy from either connection.

    Have established that there is no sound from the tv centre speakers although I get white noise during surround sound setup.

    Checked the DVD audio settings which read

    1 ENG ><D 5.l CH
    Audio out bitstream

    Therefore the dvd settings are correct.

    Regarding the tv when I press the >< button on the remote it goes straight to the surround setup also states no signal.

    Therfore I can only conclude that I have a dodgy DVD onlu a year old or the tv may be at fault.

    I will need to check out which.

    Anyway, thanks again for help. I am a lot wiser now !

    Regards
    £note
     
  11. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
    Update

    Had an idea on Saturday to test whether the dvd or tv was faulty.

    Tested the tv by attaching a walkman via optical cable signal received !

    Tested the dvd by attaching a minidisc via optical cable indicated that a signal was being received !

    Therefore connected dvd and tv with optical cable - lo and behold signal received and the dolby digital menu appeared for the first time !

    Repeated same for the coax cable - and yes a signal was received !

    I do not know why it took all this time to get it right, and the sound difference is amazing. Can now play dvd's are they are meant to be heard.

    Perseverence is the name of the game.

    Regards
    £note
     
  12. mspiteri

    mspiteri
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    You mean to say that all along your cable was not plugged in properly?

    Most amusing

    Mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...