1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba SD510 - Progressive scan?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by torkus, Jul 7, 2002.

  1. torkus

    torkus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question for any SD510 owners that are using the progressive scan option on their player.

    Does it output ONLY 4:3 format or can it also output 16:9 progressive scan output as well for NTSC DVDs?

    I read the manual and its says 2 options, full or 4:3.

    Please tell me it can do both! or more importantly 16:9

    I only just bought this player and plan to buy a front projector with progressive scan input in the future.

    Lastly, how good is the picture quality using the progressive scan option?
     
  2. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Id like to find this out too. I have just got the Tosh 32ZD26P and am looking to partner it with this player.

    Paul
     
  3. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    i have the tosh 510 connected to my projector and yes it does output a progresive image with 16/9 ntsc material and the progressive image is excellent, the interlaced (pal) is also good as well from the component out fed to my panasonic
     
  4. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    How much of an improvement would you say NTSC(p) is against Pal(i)??

    Cheers

    Paul
     
  5. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    the main body of the image looks similar on both modes but as ntsc p looks smoother al the edges of any straight lines have all the jaggies removed the pans are not juddery anymore, i only buy r1 discs now as i prefer the ntsc p image, one good dvd to check how good progressive scan is seven r1 the new issue if you watch the chapter when spacy surrenders you see pitt & freeman walk along past a brick wall and some police cars on intertlaced mode all the edges of the walls are shimmering and blooming if you look at the police cars as the shot moves you cant read the word police on the cars and the edges to the lines of the cars look blurry, if i switch on the progressive scan the edges stop shimmering you can read the police on the police car now it looks so much better.
     
  6. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers Chic

    The info about Se7en is exactly what I wanted to hear :D :D you have made my day. Thanks alot for the info

    Paul
     
  7. torkus

    torkus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you chic!

    That is a relief and am glad I now bought a top notch player.


    I presume in the settings mode, when you want to watch 16:9 progressive scan DVDs, you set it to FULL in the prog option mode.
     
  8. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    my player is set as follows


    tv shape 16/9wide
    progressive 4/3 output full
    progressive conversion auto
    Pal/Auto auto
    video out select s-video

    for progressive to work you must set your tvout to either svideo or video do not select rgb or the progressive mode wont work,you the must connect the component out on the back of the player to your component in on your tv or projector, there is also a switch on the back of the player which you switch to P when playing a r1 disc you have to switch on the component mode this is done by playing the disc and opening the flap on the remote & pressing the button marked y/pb/pr selector, when you press it once it should flash up interlaced on the screen press it again it should switch to progressive and thats it you have to enable this mode every time you switch on the player & want to watch in progressive mode.


    any more questions let me know
     
  9. Harold Corbet

    Harold Corbet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chic,
    Can you not get a it to do PAL progressive?

    Harold
     
  10. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    nope ntsc progressive only, the tosh 900 i think gives you the option to convert a pal signal to ntsc then you can get progressive but the 510 doesnot it only gives an option of auto or pal, not much of a problem for me as most of my collection is r1 and i realy only buy r1 , i watched the speed r2 special edition the other day and it still looked good pal interlaced ,but if i have an option i prefer r1 progressive
     
  11. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Chic where did you get your Tosh From?

    Paul
     
  12. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    I can comfirm Chic's comments the 510 is very good for the money, now down to about £250, do a search you will find the best links on this dvd player section.
    Region 1 progressive is very good, but I did find interlaced region 1 a bit ropey, but that does not matter as I always watch r1 in progressive scan. Region 2 also looks excellent through componant interlaced, almost as good as progressive r1 in my view. I watched The Mexican region 2 at the weekend and I coudn't believe how good the picture quality was. (also connected to an AE100 like Chic)

    Chic... you heard any rumours yet about progressive pal with the 510?
     
  13. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    got it from www.av4u.co.uk for £300 but checked there site and couldnt find it but do a search in the forums as quite a few people have bought them from other sources.


    Tim not heard anything yet about pal progressive scan, also ive just splashed out on a denon 2802 6.1 amp & its amazing my cinema in my bedroom is complete, ill post some piccies soon,
     
  14. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Chic

    Denon 2802 just happens to be the Amp I will be going for next, I envy you :(
     
  15. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    yep it is so much better than my old sherwood i watched gladiator last night on dts es discrete and the picture on the panasonic and the the sound from the denon blew me away, i can now here much more detail from each of the speakers.

    I got it from discount tv for £480 delivered well worth the money, next investment is a decent set of floorstanders
     
  16. jonny m

    jonny m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oblivion
    Richer sounds are selling the 510 for £250 multi region right now, just mention the ad in what hi fi I think.

    j
     
  17. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Chic

    My Brother has B&W 603's they really rock and you can manage without a sub, his 603's blow my Tannoy M3's and Jamo sub to bits :(
    The only downer is the price, about £550 :eek:
    Did you have any speakers in mind?
     
  18. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    i just bought a set of mission m73 and i am using a celestion s80 sub, very happy with the sound i am getting now in the next year i will probably change my 2 gale centers & surrounds
     
  19. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have ordered the Tosh 510 from webelecrticals for £239.99 to partner my tosh 32ZD26P. Cant wait :D

    Paul
     
  20. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    you wont be disappointed:D
     
  21. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Richer sounds are no longer stocking the toshiba 510. Apparently some dispute with Tosh re the price. My dad went in to buy one yesterday and couldn't so we're ordering from Web Electricals late.
     
  22. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Richer sounds are no longer stocking the toshiba 510"

    That could be because the 520e is due in September and if they're selling the 510 at £250, they don't have any room to discount further to clear stocks.
     
  23. avensys

    avensys
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was about to buy the 510 to go with the new Toshiba 36ZT29. Does anyone know what the differences are with the 520? i.e. Is it worth waiting?

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  24. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like it'll be pretty much the same machine although it will add the DTS decoding facility not found on the 510 (so no real gain for anyone with an amp that decodes DTS).

    I wouldn't mind betting that the huge discounts given on the 510 (presumably to help support Toshiba's commitment to DVD-A and get it into homes?) aren't quite so readily available on the 520...
     

Share This Page

Loading...