1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba SD340e Hot Discs

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by y220186, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. y220186

    y220186
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just got a new 340e and have found that after watching the DVD, when you remove the disc, it is extremly warm, not too hot that you couldnt touch it but its the hottest Ive ever known a disc to get,

    Anyone else have this same issue,

    Anyone have a 340e that discs dont get hot in ?

    Anyone know is this is a problem ?
     
  2. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I guess your 340e is working hard - it's a darn good player!
     
  3. superkully

    superkully
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even if I've been watching for 21/2 hours the disc doesn't get more than slightly warm when I eject...

    Is the disc scratched or are you playing MPEG-4s off of the disc?
     
  4. y220186

    y220186
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    It doesnt matter what its playing, brand new discs, older discs, dvdr-r , dvd+r, all of them run hot.
     
  5. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    is the player in a well ventilated place? i.e. not in the middle of a stack of AV equipment.

    actually, as you're here have you noticed any problems with brightness levels with your player? having to readjust it from your normal levels etc?
     
  6. superkully

    superkully
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    weyland, I have to change the level sometimes (don't know why...).

    I've also noticed that it seems to switch to composite output randomly (as far as I can tell)...
     
  7. y220186

    y220186
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Damn, I knew this one was coming, it is sat on top of my receiver, but I have raised it slightly to increase the distance between the two. However, its well ventilated and the bottom of the dvd player itself, is almost room tempearture. Nowhere near as hot as these dvds.
     
  8. y220186

    y220186
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    As for levels, Ive just had delivered a ntsc superbit spiderman 2, just popped it in the player and had to adjust the brightness and contrast.. Weird, unless its an PAL NTSC thing.
     
  9. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    i think there is a definite difference in brightness from PAL to NTSC. NTSC is much darker on this player than ANY other player i've owned.

    so you say your superbit title played ok? my R2 superbit of blackhawk down freezes every 5 seconds, or so. :(
     
  10. L00py^

    L00py^
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does a Toshiba SD-340E unit play x8 -R disc please, I am planning to record them using my Toshiba RD-XS32 unit?
     
  11. superkully

    superkully
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    loopy - might depend on the DVD make, but it does play my Ritek and Datawrite ones.
     
  12. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103

    actually, that should be the PAL pic is MUCH brighter than any player i've owned.
     
  13. y220186

    y220186
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well watched the superbit last night, played flawlessly, except for having to adjust the image slightly, I also have black hawk down coming, should be here toda, so will test tonight.

    Also, does it matter what software you burn with for DVD-r's as Ive been using datawrite grey's for a while, and about 50% of those the picture breaks up after about an hour, and the remainder of the film simply stops and starts every couple of seconds, unwatchable. Im using Clonedvd2 to burn.
     
  14. cuseeme

    cuseeme
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine won't play *anything* recorded on my SX32 at all :-(
     

Share This Page

Loading...