Toshiba SD330, the 220's replacement?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by JIT, Mar 29, 2003.

  1. JIT

    JIT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    Saw this in a brochure i got from www.unbeatable.co.uk saying it was the replacement for the 220.
     
  2. Falconer

    Falconer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. gingerone

    gingerone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +388
    Why is it that the Toshiba website is always the last place on the net to have info on their own products?
     
  4. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    You can get the SD520e for £175 on the net (and Richer will price beat if the other place has it in stock), and it has a higher quality DAC than the 220, so if that's not to expensive, you could try model instead.

    It also does progressive san on ntsc if that's of any use...

    Gary.
     
  5. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +477
    Must be about time for a replacement for the 520 too - their lifespan seams to be lessthan 12 months these days ... maybe it will have PAL Prog-Scan too.

    Vikki
     
  6. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    That was what I was wondering - it can only be around the corner considering the amount of machines currently in the shops with (or hackable to) PAL progressive.

    I'm quite impresed with the machine considering it's availaible quite cheaply now, and for me, the image is better than the Philips 963 I had (sent it back), and they both have similar DACs..

    Gary.
     
  7. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,800
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +443
    Well, you can get the replacement for the 120 here....
    http://www.dvdplayers.co.uk/toshiba-sd125e.htm
    Looks like they are upgrading the entire range.
    A lot of manufacturers seem to be placing the display
    on the sides of the player now rather in the centre.
    I think this is a good thing as currently my Tosh. 220's
    display is obstructed by my cabinet doors.
     
  8. churchwa

    churchwa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I want is Pal prog :(

    Now Tosh please do the right thing and give it to me :)
     
  9. yonderblue

    yonderblue
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +12
  10. james.miller

    james.miller
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    i dont like it. A friend of mine has a SD-125e and to be honest, i prefer the looks of my (admittedly basic looking) SD-210e. I didn't get much of a chance to play about with it, but i wasnt convinced at all. The picture quality at a first glance looked pretty terrible when compared to mine.
     
  11. galito

    galito
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Tubbs

    Tubbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the SD330 do progressive scan?
     
  13. JimmytheSaint

    JimmytheSaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +100
    I've had the 330E for about a month now (grey import) and it is very similar to the 220 in almost every way. It does not do prog scan or anything new and cost about £120 multiregion. Picture and sound were impeccible, however it had sync issues with svcd's and as a result I returned it and bought a Limit 900A from RS instead. It was only £150, PAL prog, NTSC prog, DVD Audio and played everything I threw at it perfectly,
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice