1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba SD-900E

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by galewis1, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. galewis1

    galewis1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does anyone know if there is a way to automatically force this DVD player to output a non progressive signal if fed a PAL disc, but to output a progressive signal when fed with an NTSC disc?

    The reason I ask is that, the pseudo PAL progressive function sucks, but kicks in automatically when a PAL disc is inserted. I connect the DVD player to an Infocus 4805 and have to press a button on the DVD players remote to switch it back to non progressive, which is easy enough I suppose. The problem however is that the projector has to re-detect the incomming signal and sometimes gets confused and posts a 'signal out of range' error. In the end I have to power down the projector and then power up again in order to resolve, which is a fairly lengthy process.

    Thanks

    Gary
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I would just leave the player in interlaced mode and let the pj do the deinterlacing. I reckon the pj will do as good a job as the player if not better as the SD900 is a bit long in the tooth now. Still a fantastic player though (I have two of them) and always let the pj do the processing.
     
  3. galewis1

    galewis1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Fair enough. Is there an option to force interlaced for both PAL and NTSC then? I don't seem to be able to find it in the menu.

    Thanks

    Gary
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    If you switch to interlaced using the button under the flap it will stay in that mode permanenetly until you change it back. It's that simple :)
     
  5. galewis1

    galewis1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cool.... :thumbsup: Even when the machine has been turned off? I must investigate when I get home....
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Yep, even when turned off :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...