Toshiba SD-510 still no pal prog

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Timh, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    I recenty emailed Toshiba regarding a Firmware upgrade to access pal progressive with the SAD-510, heres their reply.

    I will try again in a couple of months after the dvd forum meeting is over.

    Here's hoping.
     
  2. torkus

    torkus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timh,

    Judging by what was said by Toshiba, it looks like that this player might be able to be converted to progressive PAL!

    I hope so as well as I too have this player. Incidently, do you notice much improvement on NTSC progressive?

    Also, is your player macrovision disabled, if so, is it done by firmware?

    Cheers

    :confused:
     
  3. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    Yes... they didn't rule it out :)
    I find the picture quality much better with my Projector when using NTSC dvd's, I am not sure if you will see much differance on a TV, like the Toshiba which recently came out with progressive scan capabilities, not sure of the model number.
    I am not sure if Macrovision is disabled, maybe Chic could answer as he purchased the player from the same dealer.
     
  4. Ricky27

    Ricky27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +217
    Hi all 510E owners,nice try Tim,i have just mailed toshiba again and asked if this player had PAL prog facility and said we all understand that there is no agreed standard etc etc and yes there is no plans to release a firmwave upgrade,BUT is the player capable of doing it,with an upgrade or whatever.

    Hope to hear soon and as soon as i do ill let you know.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    Hi Ricky

    Good luck, here's hoping for a positive reply, keep us updated.
     
  6. torkus

    torkus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timh,

    You say that you are using a projector to view your R1 discs. I can therefore conclude that your player IS macrovision disabled.
    I know this because if you have connected your player via the component o/ps and you get a stable clean picture, this eliminates the possibility!

    Otherwise, you would have seen a picture that would fluctuate between dark and light every few seconds (a pulse signal to prevent you from making a copy onto your vcr).
    That's the problem most players have with macrovision enabled with projectors.

    Where did you buy your player from please?
     
  7. Ricky27

    Ricky27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +217
    Got the reply from Toshibe guys and they just wont say if the player will do it when pal prog is legal im afriad,cant believe they dont know .oh well.This is what they said......


    Thank you for your recent enquiry. Please find the information that you
    requested as follows:

    Until there is an agreed standard for PAL progressive scan we are unable to
    advise whether or not the SD510E DVD player can be upgraded for it or not.
     
  8. sharper

    sharper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SW London
    Ratings:
    +11
    If and when they ratify The PAL prog scan treaty, the flood gates will open in DVD market and everybody will be selling Progressive Scan DVD's.
    I fancy a Tosh 520 but then I fancy Denon 3800.
    I hate waiting :mad: but in this case we are going to have to. I bet Prog scan pal and NTSC will be as common as multi region in 12 months. And I cant see manufacturers bringing out all new models :D so they will have to be able to be patched :eek:
     
  9. Ricky27

    Ricky27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +217
    Tokus,its interesting what you say but i can assure you that when i put a compnent signal into my pj everything is fine ,and also i can feed a scart connection into my video without interference but as soon a s i press record thats when the macrovision starts doing its thing.

    I dont think macrovision is applied to component outputs anyway.
     
  10. torkus

    torkus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ricky27,

    That's reassuring to know! ;) As I too intend to buy a projector with component I/Ps. That was my main concern, but now you have put my mind to rest! Thanks. :) :)
     
  11. Ricky27

    Ricky27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +217
    No problem,glad to help.:)
     
  12. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    Torkus

    I purchased mine from www.av4u.co.uk I payed £299 + P&P its now £279 + P&P.
    Yes... I have no problems with the picture fluctuating on the projector, its rock solid :)
    I believe macrovision does not effect all projectors, but my player may still have it disabled, I just haven't checked.
     
  13. jonny m

    jonny m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm sure it is, thats why we are all waiting for them to ratify it for pal progressive(i.e. agree on the macrovision standard for pal prog), its already been sorted for pal interlaced.

    I think:D
     
  14. torkus

    torkus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timh,

    I looked up your website showing the Panasonic AE100 projector.
    How good is the picture?

    If you are happy with the picture then fine. If not, I have found a website that can improve the picture being projected!

    check out the following ste:-

    http://www.markgoldie.co.uk/hc/hc3.html

    I may be looking at buying this one at a later date.
     
  15. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    Hi torkus

    Thanks for the link, it looks like a good useful site :)
    I am very happy with my projector :) more so if I could get progressive pal playback with my Toshiba player.
    Even better is using your pc, I tried it briefly and the picture quality is amazing, I just cannot be bothered with the hassle of a pc though :(
    I think I will soon be trying a Hoya fld filter, I kept putting it off as I thought it was more for pc users, but Chic who has the same pj and dvd player as me is using the filter with good results, so I think I will give it a go.

    You will not be disappointed if you go for the AE100, its a bargain
    :D
     
  16. the plumber

    the plumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have the 510E and the ntsc prog scan is awesome but i have a problem where the player keepsd locking up after about an hour of play andd has to be reset by unplugging from the mains ...has anyone else experienced this problem ????????
     
  17. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    not had the same problem but it sounds like over heating to me , make sure you have plenty of ventilation around the player and none of the vents are blocked, the player gets hot when being used and if you cant get rid of the hot air round the player problems will result
     
  18. Steve Willett

    Steve Willett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Plumber

    I bought a 510e from AV4U last week and had exactly the same problem - the first two films I tried both froze at around the halfway point and completely locked the player. The player was also well ventilated.
    Phoned the supplier and they told me they'd had another 510e back with the same issue the day b4 and although they'd couldn't tell me the exact cause, it was definately a hardware problem and they would replace mine immediately.
    Which they did, and so far so good. (touch wood !)

    PS : Really impressed with aftersales service of this company - reported the problem and next day an employee drove across London to my office with the replacement.

    Tim H

    As you can see, just entered the world of progressive scan and could well have a few questions for the likes of your good self in the coming days. Hope this is okay !

    Regards

    Steve
     
  19. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    I have also had the locking problem for the last couple of weeks, down to it overheating, it gets bloody hot, but since I fitted it back into my rack with more air around it it has not locked :) only watched a couple of films though.

    No problems.
     
  20. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're not wrong about the 510e getting hot, I played through 'A Beautiful Mind' last night once to warm the player up and then again to actually watch the film and when I took the disc out it was noticeably hot... not warm, hot!

    My player is as well ventilated as it can be, ie nothing within 5 inches to the side or on top.

    It didn't freeze though... in fact, even the layer change seemed (a) well placed on that film and (b) very quick, almost didn't notice it.
     
  21. jon smith

    jon smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +221
    Mine went back because of this. Decided against another one and got my money back.

    john
     
  22. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    I emailed Toshiba yesterday regarding the overheating problem, here's their reply.


    Thank you for your recent enquiry, please find the information that you
    requested as follows;

    I regret to inform you that from your description given, it would appear
    that your appliance may not be working within our performance
    specifications. In this case as your appliance is within the manufacturers
    guarantee period, we would recommend that you contact your supplying dealer
    or their approved service company for further assistance.

    If you have any further queries regarding this matter or would like to go
    through your query with an advisor you can contact us on 0115 9766958,
    Monday - Friday 8.00-20.00, Saturday 8.00-18.00 and Sunday 10.00-16.00, or
    feel free to reply by E-mail.

    I trust the above information is to your satisfaction, if you have any
    further queries please do not hesitate to contact us.


    If my player locks up again I will contact the company I purchased it from, it hasn't locked the last couple of times but it still runs HOT [​IMG]
     
  23. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    My 510 still seems to be working fine :) just seems to get warm now, it must have made a big differance fitting it into my av rack.

    I emailed Toshiba again today asking if they will be releasing a firmware update to enable pal pro now that its been passed of by Macrovision.
    Can all you 510 owners also email them at [email protected]



    Hope so :D
     
  24. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    hi tim just emailed them, the thing that worries me if we upgrade the firmware to get pal progressive we may loose the multi region capability ie the upgrade will turn the player into a r2 only player I hope not:(


    i let you tim be the first to go for the upgrade if the say its possibe:D
     
  25. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    Email sent. :)

    Looks like this overheating is a problem though. Mine has locked up on about 5 diffrent ocasions since I bought it. I moved the player to a better ventilated location and it was fine untill two weeks ago when it locked up on the UK rental disk of Vanilla Sky. It wasn't even a warm day. I am starting to think it could be a problem where the data side of the disk is Gold coloured, anybody else notice this?
     
  26. gazzerr

    gazzerr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Damascus
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have E mailed about the 900;)
     
  27. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    Kev b i got my 510 about the same time as tim and it has only locked up once my player sits on a shelf and thus is not enclosed and is very well ventilated i have watched lord of the rings last night a 3 hour film all the way through and it diddnt lock up the player itself didnt feel warm at all.

    The only disc that cause my player to lock up is monsters inc disc 2 but this is a problem with the disc and not the player.

    the tosh is the best player i have bought with superb picture & sound and it playsm every problem disc that my old player stuttered at.
     
  28. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    Had a reply back from Toshiba. It's similar to the one TimH had at the start of this thread. If this is at the moment or ever I don't know.:mad:

    Thank you for your recent enquiry. Please find the information that you
    requested as follows:

    There is no upgrade available for the SD510E DVD player to enable it to be
    compatible with PAL progressive scan.

    If you have any further queries or would like to go through your query with
    an advisor you can contact us on 0115 9766958,
    Monday - Friday 8.00-20.00, Saturday 8.00-18.00 and Sunday 10.00-16.00, or
    feel free to reply by E-mail.

    We trust that the information is to your satisfaction. If you have any
    further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on the above number.

    Kind regards,
    Kate White
    Toshiba Consumer Products Division Helpdesk
     
  29. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    got the same reply:(
     
  30. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,224
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    :mad: :mad: :mad:

    Hers my reply, slightly differant to Kev's

    Thank you for your recent enquiry. Please find the information that you
    requested as follows:

    In reply to the E-mail sent, Unfortunately Toshiba doesn't have any sort of
    upgrade for this Pal progressive scan for any of it's units. Toshiba are
    aware of the new Pal progressive scan mode and when Toshiba decide to bring
    out a new range of DVD units, all of them will be Pal progressive scan
    compatible.

    If you have any further queries or would like to go through your query with
    an advisor you can contact us on 0115 9766958,
    Monday - Friday 8.00-20.00, Saturday 8.00-18.00 and Sunday 10.00-16.00, or
    feel free to reply by E-mail.


    Surely it must be a simple command to enable the player to accept a pal signal. I will try them again next month, you never know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice