1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba SD-350E advice needed

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by stravinsky, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. stravinsky

    stravinsky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am considering buying this DVD player.

    My Amp though will only take Optical Audio connections (Toslink).

    Looking through the specs on various sites, some say this DVD has Optical Audio out and some say it is Digital Coax only.

    Can somebody who has this DVD please tell me if it has Optical Audio out.

    Thanks in advance :lease:
     
  2. po_man

    po_man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +64
    I don't think it does. When this DVD player was first listed on their website it was quoted as saying "Optical audio" connection, but it has since been removed from their site.

    The american version, the SD-4980 does have the "Optical out" connection.
     
  3. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    As far as I can recall it was co-ax only.
     
  4. ase001

    ase001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +6
    You can get an optical to coax or a coax to optical converter from Maplins (www.maplin.co.uk) for about £15. I’m considering using this as I have the same problem. With it being digital audio it should not lose any audio quality.

    Maplin part numbers
    Coax - TOS Covertor L73BA £14.99
    TOS - Coax Covertor L74BA £14.99


    Optical to Coaxial Digital Audio Convertor Manufacturer: Nikkai Connect!
    • Converts optical (Toslink) digital signals to electrical (phono)
    • Includes plug-in mains power supply
    • Solves problems connecting digital audio equipment with incompatible connections
    • Ideal for Home Cinema and hi-fi use

    Converts the optical digital output from a Toslink to an electrical S/PDIF coaxial signal. The features a standard Toslink input socket, a phono output socket and a DC power socket. Plug-in mains adaptor included.
     
  5. luke_1983uk

    luke_1983uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +74
    i have this player connected to my bose lifestyle system for the sound and im pretty sure i have connected it via Optical Audio out
    i will find out for sure later on though, but im 99.99% sure it does has an Optical Audio out port, but i may be wrong
     
  6. stravinsky

    stravinsky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help.

    Still not sure if it has Optical or not as some of the reply's differ.

    I suppose I will have to try and find one in the shops and get a look at it.

    If it hasn't I'll look at the convertor from Maplins.

    Thanks again :confused:
     
  7. Droogie 2001

    Droogie 2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +69
    I have a Toshiba 350e (see my post about audio problems!)

    I can confirm that it only has a Coaxial cable output as I had to dig my old one out when I installed the new player last month.,
    There is definitely no Optical output.
     
  8. verwood

    verwood
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a similar player and it was really good, but it really struggled to play DVD-R and DVD-RW discs (dispite what it claims). It was also very slow at playing MP3s

    Not sure if this is important to you, but I thought I would point it out... I swapped it for a Cambridge unit, which is faultless (and it has loads of connections).

    PS I don't work for Richer Sounds!
     
  9. SuperSeven

    SuperSeven
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    350e arrived today from RGBDirect and it's only coax - no optical.

    Seems very good and has played all my single layer DVD-R and DVD+R discs.
     
  10. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    *SORTED OUT*

    I'm after SD350*E*, richersound does not price match with region 2 SD350 (cheapest £74.64).

    If i take SD350 from richersounds, would i able to hack for multiregion?



    Many thanks
    Sunil
     
  11. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    sunil

    yes the hack works and i bought from richersounds. There supposed to beat a competators price by 5%. ask for a pixmania pricematch

    Do not buy for hdmi though!

    Azz
     
  12. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    Thanks! got for £68
     
  13. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    You're that certain but you maybe wrong ? LOL :D

    Well, it doesn't have optical out for sure.
     
  14. fraser01

    fraser01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI just bought this dvd player and have connected it via coxial to my amp with excellent results .You need to buy a coaxial to digital cable .
     

Share This Page

Loading...