1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba Sd-240e resume from switchoff prob

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by schnoz, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. schnoz

    schnoz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Finchley, North London
    Ratings:
    +29
    When dvd playback is stopped partway through, then the player turned off,the next time it's turned on again the disc always starts from the very beginning again as if it hasn't been played before.It works fine if the the player is stopped and then resumed.I did the remote hack for multi-region almost immediately,so I don't know if it's because of this or, that maybe the player was like this when bought.Have never had this problem with any of the previous dvd players i've had over the past 6 years.It's a real pain searching for the place in a movie each time the player is turned off.
    Anyone with one of these with or without the remote hack experiencing this?.
     
  2. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Just an annoying gliche with this line of toshibas.
     
  3. mattrixdesign

    mattrixdesign
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think its the way you are using that function??? I didn't program any hack into mine, but it came from Amazon region free.

    Any way, this works for me...

    If i am watching a movie and want to turn the DVD player off I just press the "Power Off" button on the remote ===> the DVD player shuts down. To continue the movie press "Play" button on the remote ===> DVD player boots up and resumes from where you left off.
     
  4. schnoz

    schnoz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Finchley, North London
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi mattrixdesign,tried that same result.spocktra,I didn't realise that this problem was common,any other info?.
     
  5. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Not sure about the 240e but my 340e will definitely not auto resume when put into standby.It is annoying ,Might have a good read of the manual.See if its in there .
     
  6. J_P_P

    J_P_P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    my sd 340 definetly doesn't auto resume after you swith it off / on

    i opened a thread about it a couple days ago, since i thought it was maybe just a problem with my DVD player. Apparently this new line 240/340 all "suffer" from this feature :rolleyes:

    Anyone has a 240 or 340 that auto resumes after a power off / on ?
     
  7. J_P_P

    J_P_P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    has anyone emailed or contacted Toshiba about this ?

    Maybe there's (don't know if it's possible) a Firmware update to fix this ?
     
  8. schnoz

    schnoz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Finchley, North London
    Ratings:
    +29
    I tried phoning them gave up after about 7 minutes of their irritating recorded message.Emailed them yesterday,hopefully will get a meaningful reply sometime soon.
     
  9. J_P_P

    J_P_P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get an answer ? i emailed but got no answer yet ... :nono:
     
  10. schnoz

    schnoz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Finchley, North London
    Ratings:
    +29
    Not a peep from them as yet.
     
  11. J_P_P

    J_P_P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried contacting them in www.toshiba.co.uk ... did you did the same?
     
  12. schnoz

    schnoz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Finchley, North London
    Ratings:
    +29
  13. J_P_P

    J_P_P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...