1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba SD-220E vs Yamaha DVD-S520

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nsherin, May 14, 2003.

1. nsherin

nsherin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi,

Can anyone advise me which is the better player to go for? The Toshiba is £100 and the Yamaha £120 at Richer Sounds. Both are multi-region versions. I have heard that the Yamaha does have problems with freezes, etc.

Thanks,
    Neil

2. dnrc

dnrc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0

This was true in my case, the Yamaha was very nearly a brilliant player in my opinion, it eventually went back and was replaced with a Pioneer because it kept stopping between chapter changes in the same way you would expect it to on layer changes.

I have no experience with the Tosh, but it has always got good reviews.

3. ChrisNic

ChrisNic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +62
    Ive got the tosh and Ive been very happy with it, I think its performance and build are pretty good for £100. Ive had mine for about 8 months and havent had any problems with it.

4. harrisuk

harrisuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    The Yamaha is a better player in my opinion. Petter picture and sound quality.

The build quality also seems superior. I bought a Tosh 220 for my parents from RS. It stopped working after a week of use. I took it back and they changed it for the Yamaha at the same price. Result.