Toshiba RDXS34 - worth waiting for?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Chewyjoint, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. Chewyjoint

    Chewyjoint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had just decided to buy a Toshiba RDXS32 when I saw several mentions in this forum of the new RDXS34.

    Question is whether it's worth waiting for the newer version?

    I understand that it will have a digital tuner (which I think means I'll be able to get the digital freeview channels?) and a larger hard drive.

    This US site www.cybertheater.com/archives/2005/01/toshiba_rdxs34.html
    suggests a retail there of $499.

    Any opinions on this would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. quinn45

    quinn45
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Yeah I would wait, the new model has double the HDD space of 160GIG. Also it has been said that Toshiba will release a 250GIG when they annonce there new models fairly soon !!!!.

    The new model(s) are slated for a March release - just hold on a bit longer. !!

    I have a RDXS-30 - 60 GIG HDD is a bit tight !!. I will get Toshiba again just need a bigger HDD please Toshiba !!!!

    Quinn
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,345
    Yes, I would hang fire until the new models are released.
    I bought the RD-XS30 last Feb.......just a couple of months later they released the RD-XS32 with better features.
    I am extremely happy with my Tosh, it has performed brilliantly but no matter how big the HDD is you always end up needing/wanting more space.
    I got Sky+ last week so that has given me a bit more space but I do fancy the upcoming RD-XS34 with the bigger HDD and the built-in digital Tv does make sense............but mind you I think it will be pricey!! We in the UK always end up paying in Pounds what the Yanks :) pay in Dollars don't we?
     
  4. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sounds as though this might be the machine to go for. I was going to buy the Sony 900 but decided against as it doesn't have a digital tuner.
    However will the picture quality and build quality be as good as Sony?
    I'm impressed by the 2 pass system Sony use when dubbing and I have to say that I have always considered Toshiba a poorer quality manufacturer (Yes it's bias)!
    I've looked at the site Chewjoint refers to and on the Toshiba site. Both give info. but the only tuner I see refered to is the NTSC one.
    Where did the Digital Tuner info. appear?
     
  5. jackpot

    jackpot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It also says on that link that it has a 160GB HDD. I'm sure i've read somewhere on this site that it will have 250GB
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,599
    jackpot, UK spes will almost certainly be different. The RDXS34 may even get a different model number for the UK. It's wait and see I'm afraid. All info on the 250GB/Freeview tuner/EPG can be found in What Video & Widescreen TV's upcoming kit preview - and they are normally pretty spot on with their announcements.
     
  7. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am sure I have read that the Sony editing features are somewhat rudimentary compared with most other HDD/DVD machines.
     
  8. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Yes, the Sony editing functions are limited. If you don't need those functions, reports are it is a top quality machine; but make sure you understand what you want to do with it and the limitations before you buy. I considered the Sony until I found out you can not take a long recording and split it up; e.g. record a 3 hour program and edit it to put it on 2 discs of 1.5 hours. This is something I want to do. So I went for the XS32. I did think about waiting, but I got "the bug" and couldn't wait.

    Mark
     
  9. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    The other problem as I understand it with the Sony, is that it doesn't allow you to vary the settings for quality/against recording length when transferring from HD to DVD.
    If a recording is 1hr 5mins it will automatically reduce the quality of the whole hour and not allow you to just slightly alter the quality to get fit to a 1hr dvd.
     
  10. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    Instead of splashing the cash for a new dvd recorder why not do the diy upgrade and change the sky plus drive? You'd probably save a lot more doing it that way anyway...
     
  11. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,345
    Yes, I'll probably get around to doing this. I've only had the Pace V2 Sky+ for about a week so I'm just going to leave it a few weeks and get to know it and put it through it's paces before upgrading.
     
  12. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
  13. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,345
     
  14. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sorry about that. I've tried again and now I can't get it!!!!!
     
  15. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
  16. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +34
  17. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks JethroUK
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice