Toshiba RDXS34 - worth waiting for?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Chewyjoint, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. Chewyjoint

    Chewyjoint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had just decided to buy a Toshiba RDXS32 when I saw several mentions in this forum of the new RDXS34.

    Question is whether it's worth waiting for the newer version?

    I understand that it will have a digital tuner (which I think means I'll be able to get the digital freeview channels?) and a larger hard drive.

    This US site www.cybertheater.com/archives/2005/01/toshiba_rdxs34.html
    suggests a retail there of $499.

    Any opinions on this would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. quinn45

    quinn45
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Yeah I would wait, the new model has double the HDD space of 160GIG. Also it has been said that Toshiba will release a 250GIG when they annonce there new models fairly soon !!!!.

    The new model(s) are slated for a March release - just hold on a bit longer. !!

    I have a RDXS-30 - 60 GIG HDD is a bit tight !!. I will get Toshiba again just need a bigger HDD please Toshiba !!!!

    Quinn
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    Yes, I would hang fire until the new models are released.
    I bought the RD-XS30 last Feb.......just a couple of months later they released the RD-XS32 with better features.
    I am extremely happy with my Tosh, it has performed brilliantly but no matter how big the HDD is you always end up needing/wanting more space.
    I got Sky+ last week so that has given me a bit more space but I do fancy the upcoming RD-XS34 with the bigger HDD and the built-in digital Tv does make sense............but mind you I think it will be pricey!! We in the UK always end up paying in Pounds what the Yanks :) pay in Dollars don't we?
     
  4. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sounds as though this might be the machine to go for. I was going to buy the Sony 900 but decided against as it doesn't have a digital tuner.
    However will the picture quality and build quality be as good as Sony?
    I'm impressed by the 2 pass system Sony use when dubbing and I have to say that I have always considered Toshiba a poorer quality manufacturer (Yes it's bias)!
    I've looked at the site Chewjoint refers to and on the Toshiba site. Both give info. but the only tuner I see refered to is the NTSC one.
    Where did the Digital Tuner info. appear?
     
  5. jackpot

    jackpot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It also says on that link that it has a 160GB HDD. I'm sure i've read somewhere on this site that it will have 250GB
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    jackpot, UK spes will almost certainly be different. The RDXS34 may even get a different model number for the UK. It's wait and see I'm afraid. All info on the 250GB/Freeview tuner/EPG can be found in What Video & Widescreen TV's upcoming kit preview - and they are normally pretty spot on with their announcements.
     
  7. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am sure I have read that the Sony editing features are somewhat rudimentary compared with most other HDD/DVD machines.
     
  8. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Yes, the Sony editing functions are limited. If you don't need those functions, reports are it is a top quality machine; but make sure you understand what you want to do with it and the limitations before you buy. I considered the Sony until I found out you can not take a long recording and split it up; e.g. record a 3 hour program and edit it to put it on 2 discs of 1.5 hours. This is something I want to do. So I went for the XS32. I did think about waiting, but I got "the bug" and couldn't wait.

    Mark
     
  9. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    The other problem as I understand it with the Sony, is that it doesn't allow you to vary the settings for quality/against recording length when transferring from HD to DVD.
    If a recording is 1hr 5mins it will automatically reduce the quality of the whole hour and not allow you to just slightly alter the quality to get fit to a 1hr dvd.
     
  10. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    Instead of splashing the cash for a new dvd recorder why not do the diy upgrade and change the sky plus drive? You'd probably save a lot more doing it that way anyway...
     
  11. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    Yes, I'll probably get around to doing this. I've only had the Pace V2 Sky+ for about a week so I'm just going to leave it a few weeks and get to know it and put it through it's paces before upgrading.
     
  12. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
  13. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,233
     
  14. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sorry about that. I've tried again and now I can't get it!!!!!
     
  15. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
  16. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +34
  17. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks JethroUK
     

Share This Page

Loading...