Toshiba RD-XS34 or Pioneer DVR 530H?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by PippaK, Jul 21, 2005.

1. PippaK

PippaK
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I’m a novice who has been enjoying reading all the threads on combined DVD and HDD systems. I have some questions that I hope an expert out there may be able to help with. :)

I would like to convert various vhs films to DVD and also transfer some old vinyl records to CD. The advice given to some other members was to use a HDD/DVD system (such as the Toshiba RD-XS34 or Pioneer DVR 530H) and if necessary write to a DVD RW and make any conversions etc on the PC later.

The problem is that if I am investing in a DVD/HDD system (and don’t have buckets of spare cash) I would like to add functionality by being able to record not only terrestrial TV (as we have at the moment) but also Sky/Freeview. I see that some members have mentioned that freeview will probably be included in some machines available in September. Does anyone know this for sure? Or is it just wishful thinking!

I am expecting my next baby in November :zonked: and if I buy new kit I need to install it whilst I can still reach the connections! Any help/advice would be very gratefully received! :lease:

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Have a look at the 'Which DVD REcorder?' link in my signature - it aims to provide a useful guide through the minefield of DVD recording.

September/October time. The major players will be Panasonic EH60D, Sony RDR-RHXD710, Sony RDR-RHXD910 and Sony RDR-RHXD1010. There may or may not be Philips and Samsung models available this year as well. The Panasonic and Sony models are confirmed though.

3. CLH

CLH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    And the Pioneer 930!

4. martin day

martin day
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: