Toshiba RD-XS32 Connection Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by BurghRocks, Jun 14, 2004.

1. BurghRocks

BurghRocks

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey All,

I'm pretty new to all of this and quite honestly would rather do without all of the setup for my home theater system but my options are limited. I have just purchased the following:

Toshiba RD-XS32 DVR
    Toshiba 32HF73 TV
    Onkyo HST760 HTIB
    Digital Cable Box (General Electric, Comcast is the provider)

Basically, I have a lot of inputs to work with but what is the best way to connect them? The reason I posted here is because my main question regards the DVD recorder. If I use Component Video cable from the DVD Recorder to the receiver, then from the receiver to the TV, I understand that I can also use the red/white audio cables as well. However, if I want to record from the digital cable box, can I run both the coax AND the component? I don't understand the relationship between the two and I don't want to degrade the quality of the sound or picture.

Thanks!

2. nunew33

nunew33
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Componant is picture only.

However the tosh cannot record from componant, its out put only.

In your set up I would guess.

DTV <RGB SCART> DVR <RGB SCART> TV

+ audio connects to HTIB

But I will also have a connection connundrum when I get mine. Not sure wether to start a new thread or use this one as it has the same title.

I need to connect VCR, DVR, SKY, Video Sender (2 inputs), TV (2 scarts), Proj (Z2)

The best I can come up with is:
    Sky (RGB OUT)< SCART> DVR <SCART> TV (RGB IN)
    DVR<AV out to SCART> Video Sender
    DVR <Componant> Proj
    AMP <Svideo> Proj
    AMP <composite> Proj
    Sky <Scart> VCR
    VCR <Scart> Sender
    Sender <Scart> TV

On Audio:
    DVR <coax> AMP
    VCR <audio> AMP