1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba RD-XS32 Blank Media

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Nathan Brazil, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. Nathan Brazil

    Nathan Brazil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The beautiful Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is a thread for owners of the Toshiba RD-XS32 to post experiences and reviews of blank media. What has worked for you, and what should people avoid like the plague?

    Nunew33 said:

    I use datawrite greys 8x (no coasters), Ritek a grade printables (no coasters), bulkpaq orange 4x (few coasters no use on PC only)

    Dont use -RW used TDK 1 speed and they all failed use on PC only now

    DVD RAM Panasonic and toshiba, no problems to date.
     
  2. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    DVD-R : Infiniti 4x fine when recorded and played back in Toshiba, but no good if burnt on a PC then played back on Toshiba.

    DVD-RW : Infiniti Professional 2x (Reference Series) have been fine in all circumstances.
     
  3. JohnC

    JohnC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central England
    Ratings:
    +4
    Maxell -RW.
    Work no problem and RD-XS32 recordered material play fine on other makes of DVD Players.
    John
     
  4. raydawson

    raydawson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +27
    TDK 2x version 1.1 -RWs work fine, but TDK 2-4x version 1.2 don't. They give an error message saying 'locked'.

    The manual says the Tosh works with DVD-RWs version 1.1 and above, but it seems it doesn't like version 1.2 discs.

    Cheers,

    Ray D
     
  5. Geoggy

    Geoggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    in that number
    Ratings:
    +146
    does the machine use ram discs in or out of the casette thing?

    (soz - noob)

    can some one post a link for suitable ram discs?

    ta
     
  6. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    in caddy and out
     
  7. Nathan Brazil

    Nathan Brazil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The beautiful Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +3
    :smashin: It would be helpful if posters also included website details of blank media sellers they find give good service. Previously, for use on PC, I've been very pleased with blank DVD-R bought from http://www.bigpockets.co.uk/
     
  8. liteswap

    liteswap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    As I've said in another thread on this issue just three days ago, I've burned 100 Ritek Movie Reel DVD-Rs with complete success. Get them from ebuyer.com.
     
  9. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone any experience with Verbatim media?

    I am ready to purchase my Toshiba RD-XS32 and want to make sure I have some media for when it arrives.

    I found Verbatim -R, -RW, and RAM for good prices but don't know if it will work well in the recorder.

    Is it the case that most 'brand names' will work or is it not that simple?

    Also, what speed discs work best?

    And finally - are there any problems using double-sided media?

    Thanks
     
  10. JohnC

    JohnC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central England
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mitsubishi -RW 4.7 GB "Black Diamond" from Poundland (for £1) works a treat with excellent quality recordings.
    John
     
  11. Dark Eyes

    Dark Eyes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been using Verbatim printable -Rs for 6 months - with no coasters or compatibility problems.

    I use TDK Scratchproof -RWs, as Computing Which? rated them best in a test that included some physical and optical abuse; again with no problems.
     
  12. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    I'm a new XS32 owner.

    Tried (several) Verbatim -RW (2X, version 1.1) and they do not work for me at all. A shame as I've had good luck in the past with Verbatim on my PC drive, so I bought a bunch of these. I can format the disc, record/dub to it, but when I go to finalise it, it goes through the complete finalisation process, then gives an error "Disk Management: The disk is unrecognised".

    -RW was one of the main reasons I chose the XS32 over the Panasonic, so I'd really like to get this to work! I'll try TDK or Maxell.

    Verbatim -R (4X, pastel coloured ones) work fine.

    Mark
     
  13. mr digital

    mr digital
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have used Pio Data 4x DVD-R with great success so no problems there. I have also used Mirror Platinum DVD-R many times with no problem apart from the last time i used one for recording.
    It appeared to record ok but would not play afterwards.
    This might be a one off fault so i will try another to see what happens.
    As yet, i have not tried other discs apart from Panasonic RAM which seem to be bullet proof anyway.
     
  14. Nathan Brazil

    Nathan Brazil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The beautiful Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +3
  15. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Nathan - thanks, I missed that one.
    Mark
     
  16. oldie

    oldie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found Verbatim -R, -RW, and RAM for good prices but don't know if it will work well in the recorder. (Quote)


    I can confirm that the Verbatim 4x DVD-RW appear as 'write protected' so cannot be used. No version no on pack but they have a SERL coating (noise reduction layer). I'm glad I only bought a 5 pack to test!

    For DVD-RAM the Maxell 3x v2.1 seem to work well.
     
  17. jon99

    jon99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I have used Verbatim DVD-R 4x (about 6), Panasonic 4x (about 5) DVD-R and Grey Labels 4x DVD-R (8 used) so far without any coasters.

    I haven't tried any DVD-RW or either of my RAM disks yet.
     
  18. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
  19. raydawson

    raydawson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +27
    My XS32 does that as well with the TDK 2x -RWs - but if I eject them and put them back in they play fine. They are also OK in another DVD player.

    I don't know why the Tosh gives the error message.

    Cheers,

    Ray D
     
  20. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Wow - I didn't think to try that! I'll try that tonight. I did try and play the DVD straight away and that didn't work, but I didn't try to eject and play, nor did I try it in another player.

    I just received some TDK discs in the post, I'll try them too.

    Mark
     
  21. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Ray,

    Indeed - the Verbatim -RW (2x) discs I made do play fine - on both the XS32 and my 2 other DVD players!

    So, does everyone get that error when they use -RW?

    Thanks for the tip - I never thought to ignore the error, eject the disc, and try it!

    So add Verbatim -RW 2x to the "good" list.

    Mark
     
  22. linkster

    linkster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Where's the best place to buy these from?
     
  23. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ebuyer, although their customer service is pretty damn poor, are very reasonably priced I found for DVD media.
     
  24. Irod

    Irod
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ray,

    I've had the same problem with TDK 4x -RW. The DR1 says that the DVD-RAM must be unlocked.....?? (confusing when I'm using -RW)

    Does anyone know of a way round this problem or should I forget it

    Cheers.
     
  25. jdarushall

    jdarushall
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone tried Datawrite x8 Yellow yet (Ritek dye?)

    The datawrite grey x8 work OK if they are "fujicode" dye but the last batch I got were "Prodisc F01" and will only record at 2X.
     
  26. TVHEAD

    TVHEAD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mr DVD 4x Tesco 10 spindle £6.00 buy one get one free £6.00 = 20 disks
    copied a film played on my daughters philips
     
  27. geordie

    geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Enfield, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +3
    Refuses to work with Verbatim 4x -RW (says it is locked and will not format).
    100% success with everything else I have tried including cheap Ridata RAM (double-sided caddies), Traxdata 2x -RW, Samsung 2x -RW (£1 each), TDK -R and Datawrite Classic 8x -R.
     
  28. almara

    almara
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Recently got my Tosh and my first try with RW (Datasafe 2X) seemed to be successful - I recorded on hard drive, transferred to RW and then finalised it. Played back OK on both Tosh and PC. However, it won't let me cancel finalisation or format disc so it seems I'm left with a RW which I can't use again. Has anyone had a similar problem or knows of a solution?

    I got the RW as part of two sample packs I bought from www.blankdiscshop.co.uk. I've tried the following DVD-Rs from these packs to copy movies on PC and all have played back OK on Tosh. Don't know if there would be any difference if I'd done the recording on the Tosh.

    Ridisc Printable 4X
    Ridisc 1-2X
    Taiyo Yuden 8X full face printable
    ANV-Ritek Dye 8X
    Bulkpaq Prodisc 8X
    Ridisc 8X
    Bulkpaq Printable 8X
     
  29. Neville Street

    Neville Street
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    almara - with no menu selected and with the finalised -RW in the player and "DVD" selected press "quick menu". One of the options is disk management and if you select that the unfinalise should be there. I am not with my m/c, so apologies if that doesn't work, but I am sure that is how I do it.
     
  30. almara

    almara
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Neville but this is what I've tried and get the message "operation cancelled due to error on disc". When you try to format message is "this DVD cannot be formatted".
     

Share This Page

Loading...