Toshiba MT3 with a PC

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Comer, Nov 28, 2001.

1. Comer

Comer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +86
    Projector: Toshiba MT3 (LCD)

PC:

PIII 600
    256 RAM
    Raedon VE Graphics
    Fortissimo sound card (optical out)
    Pioneer 116 DVD multiregion (I think that it is the tray version of the 106s…it seems to have the same specification)
    Windows ME
    PowerDVD Version 3
    WinDVD Version 3

DVD Players: Pioneer 717 and Samsung 709

I’m not an expert so I would suggest that this is not to taken as gospel, its just my very humble opinion.

Using the MT3 with the Pioneer and Samsung DVD players produces a good picture. It shows good detail, beautiful colours and acceptable enough contrast for an LCD projector. However it did show a very annoying vertical banding (see scene in R1 U571 where they are on deck the morning after the night before when the plane appears or opening scenes of R2 Cliffhanger) This is particularly evident on backgrounds or smokey/foggy scenes. Also faces or other objects not fully in the foreground looked fuzzy even though when viewed on TV they were in perfect focus.

I tried the Iscan Pro with the MT3 and Samsung DVD player using component in on the PJ. When I did manage to get it working there was no great improvement and the picture was slightly stretched vertically even with 16:9 mode switched on. The vertical banding was actually worse with the Iscan Pro.

So I built the PC last Sunday (with much greatfully accepted knowledge gained from this Forum). My big worry was that there is no 16:9 mode when using RGB in through the VGA connection on the MT3. Because of this I was afraid that I would loose a lot of resolution on annamorphic DVDs. I was also worried about tearing, not just at 72Hz and 75Hz refresh rates but even at 60Hz based on other posts regarding the MT1 and MT7.