Toshiba Hd e1 Region Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by pidge22, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. pidge22

    pidge22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Near Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have a Toshiba Hd E1 arriving on Thursday,just a question about region coding,I have seen a number of Hd films on Ebay however the auctions state's that as they are Region 1 hd dvd's they will only play on an American dvd player ie Toshiba Hd a1 etc....is this correct or will any of these region 1 dvd'd play on the Hd E1......
    thanks
    Paul
     
  2. Lord Bunky

    Lord Bunky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +75
    US HD-DVD's will play on UK players. I bought the UK version of Batman, and a few other Warner titles. They have an FBI warning at the start, so its just a US disc re-packaged in a UK skin.
     
  3. pidge22

    pidge22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Near Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +30
    I am looking to buy a couple of Region 1 hd dvd's off ebay this is what the seller says and will not refund for incompatibility issues:

    "BRAND NEW AND GENUINE REGION 1 HIGH DEFINITION DVD, WHICH WILL ONLY PLAY ON TOSHIBA HD DVD PLAYERS!!!!

    THIS ALSO PLAYS ON THE XBOX 360 HD DRIVE!

    Please do not buy unless you have or are getting an american HD DVD PLAYER"

    Can someone confirm these will play on a Toshiba HDE1.....

    cheeers
    Paul
     
  4. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,243
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,486
    To confirm something here:

    HD-DVDs have NO region coding as of yet. HD-DVDs will work on any HD-DVD player from anywhere in the world.

    It is only when you try to play an SD-DVD on a HD-DVD player, when the region coding kicks in.

    So the guy on Ebay is most likely selling dodgy copies, as he is talking crap on several fronts there.

    You can buy HD-DVDs from the US and they WILL work.
     
  5. pidge22

    pidge22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Near Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +30
    Greg,
    thanks for the feedback....the ebay seller has got very good feedback so it's a case of maybe the seller doesn't really know......
     

Share This Page

Loading...