Toshiba HD DVD and its PSU -- can it be swapped

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by StooMonster, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Having watched a video this afternoon of someone taking a Tosh HD A1 to bits, and how it's very similar to a PC, the thought struck me ... can you use a PC ATX PSU in the case? If this were possible, it would easier (and safer) to install a new PSU than use a mains transformer.

    StooMonster
     
  2. jsgreen89

    jsgreen89
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Interesting idea...

    Would seem like a simple thing to do.
    Is it a standard mini-ATX mobo?
     
  3. jsgreen89

    jsgreen89
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hmm just looked at that video of the inside of the player:

    http://hdvforever.com/blog/HDDVD.wmv

    And it doesn't like a standard PSU on the inside at all. Might be possible if you knew what you were doing... but I wouldn't risk it :eek:
     
  4. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
    If the Euro model shares a similar chassis and main comps it way be worth ordering a Euro PSU as a spare part give there not fare away.

    AVI
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Stoo, you really should get out more.... sorry!
     
  6. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    LOL, well it was on a DVD someone gave me ... but I did have it running at 2x speed. ;) And I am always up for modding a bit of hardware. :)

    StooMonster
     
  7. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,599
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,012
    I'm using one of the 100w step downs a lot of members bought off flea bay, I have had it on constantly now for 2 weeks and although it gets a little "warm" it seems fine. What made me worry was it said on the box "Not for continuous use"? It also states it has an overheat cut out so surely it is safe to just leave on all the time?

    What do you think?

    Cheers
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I guess anything which says 'not for continuous use' would be best turned off overnight, or if you are away. Pretty sure it won't cause a fire, but the overheat cutout may not protect the transformer completely from itself. If you'd spent 3 x the money you could have got around all this. A minor inconvenience considering the cost of the thing, just turn it off occasionally I think.
     
  9. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,599
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,012
    Cheers MAW, you have kind of put my mind at ease :)
     
  10. jsgreen89

    jsgreen89
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Don't worry. It just means you have to turn it off for 15minutes every 2 hours. Just tell everyone it's like an old-time cinema intermission :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice