Dismiss Notice
We're migrating the forum software to the next major version and this will require the site to be down for the best part of Monday 16th.
More details here. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Toshiba EP30 Region Free Firmware

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Viking61, Nov 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    There is now a way to make your HD-EP30 region free. :r0:

    First of all I want to say that I don't take any credit in making the regionfree firmware. I only modified it to make it run on our players. It is a quite 'dirty method', so maybe it's not for all to do this. The procedure has to be followed very carefully, or you risk rendering your player useless.

    The update procedure:
    If you don't feel up to it, then it's better not to try. Hopefully there will come a better way to do it in the future. Having said that, the procedure have been tested on 4 players and all of those are now region free.


    To make your EP30 or A30 (incl. PAL capability) region free:
    1) EP30-dirty1
    2) EP30-dirty2
    3) Update your now region free player with the EP30 version 4.0.

    To crossflash your EP30 or A30 (incl. PAL capability) into region free EP35-mode:
    1) EP30-dirty1
    2) EP35-dirty2
    3) Update your now region free player with the EP35 version 4.0.

    To make your A35 into PAL capable region free EP35:
    1) EP35-dirty1
    2) EP35-dirty2
    3) Update your now region free player with the EP35 version 4.0.

    To revert your EP30 or A30 from EP35-mode to EP30-mode:
    1) EP35-dirty1
    2) EP30-dirty2
    3) Update your reverted player with the EP30 version 4.0.

    If you decide to crossflash your EP30 or A30 into EP35-mode, you can see how bitstreaming will work in this post.

    If you have an A30 or A35 and plan to make it into a regionfree EP30 or EP35, please ensure that your TV or projector can handle PAL before starting the process. Even though the EP30 and EP35 can playback NTSC, they will have PAL as default.

    If you play a R1 DVD that is encoded with RCE, you will get an error message like: 'This disc is not formatted to play in this region'. You will then need to enter the RCE hack, which can be found here.


    Disclaimer
    ****************
    By downloading the firmware files you agree that you fully understand the potential, like with any firmware update, to "brick" the player and are happy to attempt this firmware update at your own risk.
    ****************

    UPDATE !!!

    My SkyDrive is now closed, so no need sending me PM for the "dirty firmware"
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
  2. lasereraser

    lasereraser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +944
    Can I just ask Viking61- what if the player already has version 4.0 upgrade? Is it still okay to follow the above procedures?
     
  3. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    It will do the update whatever your current firmware version is. :smashin: Re-apply version 4.0 afterwards.
     
  4. craddock

    craddock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tonbridge/Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +89
    Can confirm it doesn't matter which firmware you are running.

    Flashed one at v2.0 and one at v4.0

    :thumbsup:
     
  5. lasereraser

    lasereraser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +944
    Many, many thanks to all who have made this progress possible, you are all wonderful indivuals!:)

    Viking61, I have sent you a wee PM.
     
  6. dee2001

    dee2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    I just wanna say a huge thanks to Viking61 for all his work on region free for ep30. :clap: Was starting to think we'd never see it.
     
  7. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    I have to pop out to do some shopping. Will be back to you guys in an hour or so. :cool:
     
  8. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    :rotfl: don't be long... and what's for dinner?? :devil:

    :smashin:
     
  9. simms1965

    simms1965
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    does anyone thik a pioneer 600 would upscale ntsc dvds beter than a multi region ep 30.i have a p 600 and ntsc dvds look fine,justthinking when i update my ep30 would they look better.
     
  10. lasereraser

    lasereraser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +944

    So if I run the discs on Version 4.0 as my player is, is it essential to then re-install V4.0 again as Viking61 suggests? Does the region free firmware revert the player back to an earlier firmware?
     
  11. fasda

    fasda
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +18
    I understand everything except,
    1. Insert the CD with firmware called EP30-dirty1 ?
     
  12. Boo128

    Boo128
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would just like to say, on behalf of all EP30 owners:

    :thumbsup: Many many thanks to Viking61, who has enabled us mere mortals to have a machine that can now recognise :us: dvds - Your hard work and effort is greatly appreciated :thumbsup:


    :arty:
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
  13. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    You are supposed to download 2 ISO files plus the procedure document. The ISO files must be burned to a CD as an image.
     
  14. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    There will be a slight delay in the file distribution as I have forgot the password I put on the account I used for the Skydrive. :oops:
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  15. dj_ooms

    dj_ooms
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hey guys,

    I have some good news and some bad news. I have made the my EP30 regionfree and it works. The only thing is the display seems to be completely mucked up. Colours are completely out of wack. Another good thing is that the player does indeed seem to send the audio via bitstream now. I tested my T2 German HD-DVD with a 7.1 DTSHD Hi-Res track and I get all the nice flashy lights on my amp. I am going to try to re-apply the firmware again to see if I can fix it otherwise I may have to contact Toshiba to RMA it. Many thanks to Viking61 for the patch.

    Regards,

    Ooms
     
  16. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    Update to firmware 4.0 and see if that helps. The colours looked OK on my TV, even with the EP35 firmware as you have installed.
     
  17. dj_ooms

    dj_ooms
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +23
    Ok I can not re-apply the 2 dirty firmwares now as the EP30 now thinks it is a EP35. I am going to apply the regionfree EP35 firmware and then update to version 4.0 to see if this fixes it. If not I suppose I will have to RMA the unit. At least the patched EP30 can now decode the HD Audio formats properly.

    Thanks again.

    Ooms
     
  18. dj_ooms

    dj_ooms
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +23
    Out of chance I decided to check my PS3 and it looks like its my amp that seems to be going funny as the PS3 has the same funny picture. I am assuming the player is working fine then but will have to check by connecting it directly to the TV.
     
  19. dj_ooms

    dj_ooms
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +23
    Woo, I am glad nothing is broken. I thought I would have to RMA something. I switched the amp and TV off for about 5 minutes and switched it back on and everything seems fine. Going to update to firmware version 4.0 and then the EP30 should be fully sorted.

    I don't think a simple "Thank You" can say how grateful I am for this but I will say it again.

    Thank you very much Viking61 and whoever else made this regionfree patch possible.

    Just to confirm and make sure everyone is aware BISTREAMING DOES WORK!!!

    Regards,

    Ooms
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
  20. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    Maybe it is the bitstream sound that made your colours mucky. As the EP30 is not built for bitstream, maybe it mess up the colours when it is switched on. If you get it again, try to turn bitsream off on the EP30. We can revert it to true EP30 firmware tomorrow. :)
     
  21. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    Bitstream from an EP30 is going to make a lot of people happy.. :D
     
  22. dj_ooms

    dj_ooms
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +23
    Sorry if there is some confusion about what I said. The picture is now fine on the EP30. Either my TV or amp went funny as the signal is a passthrough going to my amp and then the TV. The picture and Bistreaming are working fine so the EP30 is now in effect an EP35 minus the 5.1 analogue outputs and the flashy blue HD-DVD logo on the front.

    Many thanks for the suggestions but I do not think I will need a downgrading disc as the EP30 is working as I require it to.

    Regards,

    Ooms
     
  23. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    I had to do something else for awhile, but now I'm back in the firmware file business. :D

    Stupid me had of course managed to forget the password I used for the other Skydrive account (or maybe it was the username). Anyway, I'm now uploading the files to a new account, so it should be ready for distribution in 15 - 20 minutes.

    Edit.
    Hmmmm, make that 15 - 20 minutes more. The uploading takes a bit longer time than I expected. The first file is up, and the second on the way. :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
  24. dreadline

    dreadline
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Left of Jupiter
    Ratings:
    +296
    well done viking, so it wont be going up to the link that i have with all the other firmwares on it and the ep30 region free video ?
     
  25. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    It will now, but in a conditional access folder.
     
  26. lasereraser

    lasereraser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +944
    Viking61

    I just want to publicly express my gratitude to you once and again (and to anyone else who assisted you in this endeavour). Step by step instructions provided made this process an easy operation to carry out, and I for one am a very happy chappy indeed.:)

    All the best to you.

    P.S. When are you going to crack the Blu-Ray regions??!!
     
  27. PeteIvy

    PeteIvy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Just outside Norwich
    Ratings:
    +58
    Genius. Best bit of news all year!!
     
  28. Viking61

    Viking61
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +720
    OK, files are up. Links starting to go out. :)
     
  29. stretcher

    stretcher
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Between Ashford (Kent) & Canterbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great work Viking61 - looking forward to watching R1 disks I haven't seen for quite a while:D

    PM sent as requested:)
     
  30. dee2001

    dee2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Downloading now! :clap:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...