Toshiba DVD players- still noisy?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nathan_silly, May 16, 2003.

  1. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My brother has a Toshiba SD-100E which makes quite a bit of noisy- whirring and droaning. A mate's SD-100E also makes similar levels of noise. It's audible from my listening pos.

    My Sony 500D is very quiet.


    Are the top-end Toshiba players still noisy? Also do they suffer from the Chorma Bug?

    Cheers
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +893
    Top end Toshiba's aren't noisy. My SD900E is silent. :) Although they do have the Chroma Bug apparently (not that I've actually seen it!).
     
  3. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One more thing- I've noticed the Tosh cuts the signal to the S-Video output when I've set it to RGB. And vice versa- setting to S-Video output and it cuts the RGB output.

    Is there any way of setting to "All?" S-Video, composite & RGB output?

    My Sony outputs on the composite, S-Video and Component, there is no option to enable/disable each output.

    Having them all outputting is quite useful, for example routing the S-Video via my MC-1 so I can setup the Sony/MC-1 with the movie, and then eventually switch over to Component when watching the film.
     
  4. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    My Tosh SD100 hums like a big humming thing, it is worse when in menus etc, fortunatley it is in a glass fronted cabinet other wise I would have had to get rid of it.

    Nathan I'm not following you round the site Honest.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    My Toshiba sd-510 is noisy when displaying the menu screen only.
     
  6. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    My 520E is quiet most of the time for DVD but noisy for CD.
     
  7. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +893
    Not that I'm aware of, soon as you select RGB it disables the other outputs. It's fine if you use Component Video though. You can have S-Video from the Scart, S-Video from the S-Video output and Component Video from their outputs all running at the same time. Might even have the composite output active but I don't use it, so you'd have to check that.:)
     
  8. DownToTheBone

    DownToTheBone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    One thing that really pisses me off with my 520 is how long it takes to eject a disc ... especially if the machine was in standby and all you wnat to do is get the disc out ... takes ages !!

    DTTB
     

Share This Page

Loading...