1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba Dilema

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Kings, Jul 28, 2004.

1. Kings

Kings
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

Great Forum, had a great time reading, {TBH got more confused with all the different opinions} :eek: .

I am about to update my old Toshiba TV of 12 years old and the old set has done me proud. In recognition of it's fine service I am going to update to another Toshiba but this time widescreen.

I am certain I want a 36inch and that I am not going plasma/LCD or projection.

My confusion is that should I go for the 36ZP48 or the 36ZP38.
    Both seem very similar and not being a super tech I am not aware of differences.

Any input, suggestions or guidence would be greatly appreciated

Thanks
    Kings

:clap: :clap: :clap:

2. Moo242

Moo242

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. FlyingBig

FlyingBig
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    My advice would be to forget about big widescreen Toshiba tvs. Everyone of them has a dirty faint line running vertically down the screen. Don't ask me why its there cause i would very much like to know.

4. Demon

Demon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +57
    The 36ZP48 is just a natural progression from the ZP38.. its pretty much the same set, but some of the little problems have been ironed out.. and the Active Vision software is different, whether this better, I don't know, and neither do the engineers at Toshiba..

Speaking to an engineer at Toshiba, their are different batches of tubes used throughout the ZP38 lifetime, and yes, some have had problems with purity etc..

As for silly comments like
    I'd also forget the all loewe widescreens as well, they all have terrible geometry issues... :)

5. boab_is

boab_is

Products Owned: