Toshiba D-R3: No component out!

redaction

Standard Member
Reaction score
This DVD recorder arrived today after ordering it from Unbeatable.co.uk yesterday. Their website claims it is capable of outputting pal progressive scan, yet there are no component video outputs on the recorder. I was under the impression it had these as some folk on this site were recommending this particular do-it-all budget recorder.

As it outputs in RGB, is this really going to be a big problem? I'm new to this sort of thing and have component leads and a Toshiba SD-240E for playback with component but no optical out - would you advise I keep the Toshiba D-R3 and get a coax digital out for playback of disks in Toshiba SD-240E machine, or replace the recorder with something else, say Panasonic E55 which does have component video output?

I initially preferred the Toshiba model over the Panasonic owing to its support of DVD-RW, giving greater compatibility and flexibility than either DVD-RAM or DVD-R. So it's a trade-off decision and one I have to make myself, but the thoughts and recommendations of others would be appreciated.

Ta

If you were expecting component outputs and you want them you should send it back. The European version of the DR3 does not have component outputs - and it seems as if that is what you have been sent - the UK model which (AFAIK) does have components is not yet available.

DVD-RW doesn't really give you more options by the way. It is just a re-writeable DVD-R only less compatible. Useful if you want to regularly play recordings in an upstairs DVD player.

Thanks for your reply, Rasczak.

I have a Pioneer DVD-R/RW computer drive so DVD-RW seems like a useful addition, the disks are cheaper than RAM and as they are supposed to use a metal coating to hold data rather than a dye (AFIAK), they should avoid the problems associated with longer term archival data loss suffered by -r formats. That's if they suffer same problem as CD-Rs, which I'm assuming they do.