Toshiba C50 laptop wifi replace with intel?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by portunus, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. portunus

    portunus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Necwastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have new tosh laptop C50 A 19T, this has the dire Atheros wifi card installed in it. I have read that it can be changed to an Intel Centrino card. Has anyone done this and maybe recommend a card that will be dual band so can get a better 5ghz signal from the virgin superhub.
     
  2. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,725
    I've done this on a different brand of PC and failed on another. Beware that some manufacturers "BIOS lock" their machines so that you can only fit their "official" replacement parts.

    The best things to do would be to get hold of the PC's hardware manual and see what type of cards your PC can accept (they come in different physical sizes) and how many antenna's your laptop has. (No point buying a card for 3 antenna's if you only have 2.) You might even care to open up the inspection panel and see what's in there already (on laptops it's often behind a screwed down panel on the bottom.)

    If you're lucky the manufacturers hardware manual might give you the part numbers for the "officially" sanctioned replacements.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2014
  3. portunus

    portunus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Necwastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Thanks for reply. I am sure the Intel centrino can be used. Still trying to find manual and how to remove the keyboard! The youtube vids on laptops are older models, The Tosh satellite C50 only has hdd, ram and cmos access on underside. The half wlan card is under keyboard.
    Any one here managed this
    Thanks again micke
     
  4. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,725
    BTW - be aware that 5GHz radio energy doesn't penetrate "stuff" (walls, doors, air) as well as 2.4GHz. This often manifests as shorter "range" and/or reduced "rate-at-range" (ie the link rates (speed) steps down to lower values at shorter distances.)

    What makes 5GHz "better" is that there are more available radio channels and mode bandwidth so you stand a better chance of finding a channel all to yourself and experience less interference from the neighbours (because of the lower range - ironically it's actually a "good" thing!)
     

Share This Page

Loading...