1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 42WH46 just bought

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by brummybloke, Jul 18, 2004.

1. brummybloke

brummybloke
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok i am a complete noob at this sort of thing, i still have on its last legs a 28" wide screen idtv, which i got from curry's 5 years ago for £300. it was a bargain at the time and looks the muts nuts even now. but it had started to 'go' as i have white lines apearing at the top of the screen which i presume is loss of pixels.

so i hunted around and after poo pooing plasma as i could find nothing cheaper for 42 inch then £1400 and poo pooing lcd (30 " for £1100) i decided on a rear screen projection tv.

having bought me a Toshiba 42WH46 for £810 inc delivery i thought i was onto a winner until i started reading some of the fead back on this forum, the long and the short of it is.....

i have sky digital, a dolby digital amp, ps2 and dvd player that i need to connect to it, it is for every day tv watching ( mainly cbbies as i have a 1 year old).

is it going to be ok as an every day tv?, i have heard that as with most rpstv the dvd play back side is good but all this callobrating and waiting for things and putting screen savers on and the like. i want it to last at least 4 years as i have more pressing priorities bu i would still like a kick ass tv, but i dont like the sound of all this messing around and a damaged screen through image burn ( i think the cbbies logo stays on screen).