Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

toshiba 42pw33 service menu problem

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by cosmin_v, May 7, 2005.

  1. cosmin_v

    cosmin_v
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi@all,
    go easy on me, it's my first post here :D
    So, I've just bought a 42" Toshiba CRT RP and, obviously it needed badly a convergence adjustment at the service menu level. Problem is that the convergence settings don't get saved, or get reseted the next time I switch on the TV.
    I've called in the Toshiba, but they bumped into the same problem.
    Is that another way to save the settings beside switching off the TV (not putting it in stand by via the RC, but powering it down)?
    Funny thing - the other settings I've changed in the service menu got saved... Only the convergence keeps switching back to default :mad:

    Any help would be apreciated!

    Cosmin
     
  2. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    If Tosh UK can't help then you might be stuck, but there is a fall back position. Ask about getting the set ISF'd. This is a full on top to toe set up of everything to get the max performance from your TV. If anyone outside Tosh UK will know if the set can store its convergence settings then an ISF engineer is your best bet.

    Gordon Fraser at Convergent AV should be your first port of call http://www.convergent-av.co.uk/

    Regards

    Chris
     
  3. cosmin_v

    cosmin_v
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Chris,
    I've forgot to mention that I'm from Bucharest-Romania, so Gordon Fraser might ask for a house call twice the amount I've paid for the TV :rotfl:
    A friend of mine followed my lead and bought the same tv; he has the same problem, which makes me think that it's a software bug.

    Cosmin
     
  4. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    :D I think you're right about Gordon.

    I would pursue the problem with the manufacturer. If it's a bug in the software then they should be working on a fix for it.
     
  5. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Moved from CRT Projectors forum
     
  6. cosmin_v

    cosmin_v
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +0
    @all: help needed! Anyone has an ideea?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice