Toshiba 40L2436D only showing SD not HDTV ?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by gbrowne, Jul 1, 2015.

Tags:
  1. gbrowne

    gbrowne
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wareham, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    It seems I must be doing something really stupid cos I'm sure this should just work out of the box.
    Set up did auto tune via newish terrestrial aerial, found about 60 digital TV channels. The signal strength is shown as 98% and 100 quality. However, when I view these channels they look SD and the 'i' info screen confirms they are all SD.

    We use the mighty 200kW Rowridge Freeview transmitter on the IoW, which ukfree.tv lists the transmitter as carrying at least BBC1 and 2 etc in HDTV on channels 101 and 102 etc.

    What am I doing wrong ? Do I need to enable something in a hidden Service Menu or something ?
    Help !!!

    Cheers,
    Dimwit of Wareham.
     
  2. silversurfer24v

    silversurfer24v
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    756
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    lincs
    Ratings:
    +83
    If you switch to channel 101/102/3/4 etc for the HD channels do you get a picture
     
  3. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    Some website specifications can be a bit hazy at times. Several do not specify that this model had a DVB-T2 tuner which is essential for HD channel reception in the UK. However some dealers seem to think it has, so I hope you are lucky in this respect. Being specified as Full HD does not guarantee that a set has a UK HD DVB tuner. In other countries HD can be received on DVB-T, which causes confusion.

    Toshiba is sourced from many manufacturers, rather than being specific 'make'. This appears to be a discontinued model.

    You could plug in a HD set top box or PVR in order to receive HD channels. However if this was sold to you as something it isn't then you have good grounds for a refund.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  4. gbrowne

    gbrowne
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wareham, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mike and Silversurfer,

    Channels 101 etc just show SD.

    I wonder if there is any way of finding out the tuner capability - hidden service menu maybe ?
    On the box it just says 'Full HD 1920 x 1080'. I got the TV secondhand, but unused.

    Wonder if the tuner is a plug in module inside....

    Cheers,
    Geoff.
     
  5. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +11,861
    Does the label/box say "Freeview" or "FreeviewHD"?
    If it doesn't say "FreeviewHD" then it cannot receive HD broadcasts.
    The product description on Amazon says Freeview.
     
  6. gbrowne

    gbrowne
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wareham, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much everyone, you had cracked it. The box only says Freeview not FreeviewHD. Quite misleading really as other labels say Full HD. I understood that to mean it would have a HD tuner. I'll have to look out for a tiny DVB-T2 set top box I guess. What a pain. More cables again !!

    Thanks again guys.
    GB.
     
  7. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +11,861
    FullHD is the screen resolution so it could, for example, display HD from a Freesat HD or FreeivewHD receiver via HDMI.
     
  8. gbrowne

    gbrowne
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wareham, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks TS, but isn't that what 'HD ready' is ? I understood 'Full HD' means this thing does HD by itself without external sources ?

    Don't suppose you've ever come across a tiny STB for DVB-T2 ?
    G.
     
  9. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +11,861
    HD Ready means a 128ox720 display, Full HD means a 1920x1080 display.
     
  10. gbrowne

    gbrowne
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wareham, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, got it now. Thanks for that. I consider myself reasonably tech-savvy, how on earth is the average non-techie Joe meant to work it all out :eek:))

    Thanks guys.
     
  11. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    As if life was not confusing enough I have 24" Panasonic upstairs which is HD Ready (720). However it has a DVB-T2 tuner and gives a very good picture on the HD channels. . It's quite 'old' in that it has an old style LCD screen. I believe Sony sold some of these as well When I researched the net for gbrown a number of sites were saying his tv has a DVB-T2 tuner which is so very wrong.
     
  12. Curly99

    Curly99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    @gbrowne

    thread moved to the LCD & LED LCD TVs forum

    Curly
     

Share This Page

Loading...