1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

toshiba 37WL56P

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by rab4169, Jun 10, 2005.

  1. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    looking at getting this toshiba 37WL56P , would you recommend this or are there any other 37" lcd`s . have budjet of around £1500

    thanks
    robert
     
  2. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    rab4169,

    I've posted quite a lot of info on these threads about this set. I had one delivered two weeks ago and it has a very loud buzz. The engineers have been out to it and a replacement mains board has been ordered.

    It's the only problem posted here but consider it.

    The picture is very very good and the set is better for being 37" and not 32", it just makes that little bit of difference. If you require any further info let me know.
     
  3. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    is this buzz a one off or a fault in these tv`s, is the quality of sky good through a quality scart
     
  4. ener1

    ener1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +42
    My Toshiba has been delivered this morning and has been installed. the image quality is awesome. I also have a new Samsung 850 DVD player connected via HDMI and this TV rocks!

    Sky+ picture is excellent. yes i can hear a slight "buzzing" noise but its not noticiable unless i am really close to the Toshiba.

    Early days yet but so far im impressed!

    Ener1
     
  5. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    does the tv come with component in and a vga , would like to add computer
     
  6. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    sorry 1 last question , can it be removed from stand and wall mounted.
    thanks
    robert
     
  7. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    The picture is very good via all digital sources, it cannot be faulted, analogue tv isn't too good but that isn't a problem for you right?

    The engineer has revisited as Toshiba were unable to supply the transformer board as they do not keep exact enough records of what they use. So he has had to write down a serial number off of the board. There is obviously a problem with some of the boards fitted, as others who use these forums have noted. If you want to know a batch number to make sure you don't have one out of the same batch let me know.

    Is there anyone out there with a 37WL56p who cannot play non-anamorphic 16:9 dvds on this set or is it just mine?
     
  8. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it can be wall mounted but that is an extra cost.
     
  9. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    where can i order a wall mount cheap, what kind of fitting am i looking for
     
  10. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  11. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    is it a vesa 200 * 200 wall mount i`m after
     
  12. Stuall

    Stuall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm thinking of buying this tv and I really want to know if I can connect my pc to it with a vga cable, can anyone help? :)
     
  13. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    First point, call the Toshiba customer services and they will direct you to the people who supply the bracket for wall mounting.

    As for the PC issue I'll look in the morning and post a reply.
     
  14. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    went to currys today and saw this set up and running , picture was not the best but this was not to do with the tv but the usual 1 signal between 50 tvs. still looked better than the surrounding 37" plasmas and lcds.
    the set looked good as well with the buttons on the top of the set. only thing was the back of the set had plastic covers covering the inputs so could not see them.
    does this set have component input ?
    if i did purchase this will i be able to connect the new x box 360 to this set to get hi def video aswell as sky hi def when it appears.
    this set is top of my list but would just like to check this before purchase.
    also as i asked before , when wall mounting is it a normal plasms mount i buy , i know this is an lcd but just the size and weight . see some plasma mounts on these forums for £70 and wondered if these will fit an lcd aswell.
    thanks
     
  15. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    No component inputs sorry!
     
  16. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks rob, just hope the xbox 360 connects with hdmi socket , but then where will sky hi def go?
     
  17. BLOWNIT

    BLOWNIT
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Actually using the tv as a monitor as we speak. straight standard vga computer monitor lead.
    picture is brill. also downloaded some sample high def clips from microsoft, wow, what a performer. all in all a cracking set, no dead pixels but i do have a faint 3 inch band of shadow right across the screen 3/4 of the way down from the top.
    You can check the intensity of this by selecting the grey screen mode (non channel).
    it is as if the lcd screen is made of strips with some being more illuminated than others.
    you need to check this out because if the strips are well defined this transfers onto the tv picture as a band that is visible when the picture is all one colour such as a football pitch. Mine are faint but can be seen if i look carefully.
    check it out,
    blownit
     
  18. rab4169

    rab4169
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    is this band a fault on just your tv or all models, if i connect to sky to watch football will i see this band
     
  19. Stuall

    Stuall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Guys

    I'm a bit confused I keep seeing two model number for this tv "Toshiba 37WL56P" and "Toshiba 37WL56" could anyone tell me if these are two different tv's or in fact the same tv, if they are different what is the difference.

    Cheers
    Stu :thumbsup:
     
  20. BLOWNIT

    BLOWNIT
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    BAND is present on all channels. 37wl56/p relates to colour of frame. "p" is silver i believe which is the only model in the uk anyhow.
    Toshiba have offered to replace the tv as this banding should not be visible.
    Knowing my luck the replacement will have no banding but will have dead pixels galore, you watch

    blownit.
     
  21. Stuall

    Stuall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks blownit!
     
  22. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    Can someone tell me if this set is a direct view lcd panel or rear projection?

    If it is direct view, it seems very cheap!

    Cheers
     
  23. BLOWNIT

    BLOWNIT
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Direct view,
    Blownit
     
  24. trica

    trica
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, the P stands for Pan European which means it is sold all over europe. The tuner can tune into all european bands.
     
  25. Mr India

    Mr India
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    iv just bought a toshiba 37WL56P for £320 but it doesnt come with a stand.does anyone know where you can purchase a stand for this tv? many thanks:smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...