1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 36ZP48 & connections

Discussion in 'TVs' started by tregoni, Nov 4, 2004.

1. tregoni

tregoni
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help - I am a novice.
    I have just received the 36ZP48 together with the Toshiba SD340 - which I will hopefully set up when I get home tomorrow. I understand that I need to connect the DVD player via component cable and optical cable to acheive better pictures and dolby digital. However, I have an old sky digibox (Pace), I will be connecting this to the TV via a scart lead - will this give me dolby pro-logic or do I need to connect another cable. Any help would be very much appreciated - thanks.

2. rob27

rob27

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    No idea mate, im a virgin at this as well. sorry doesnt help. Anyone else.

3. ddlooping

ddlooping

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Welcome to the forums, tregoni. :)

The scart lead will give you Dolby Pro-Logic. ;)

4. tregoni

tregoni
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks ddlooping.

5. ddlooping

ddlooping

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    You're welcome. :)

6. tregoni

tregoni
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have now set up the tv and the PQ from both sky (old Pace model) and dvd player are excellent. At the moment sky and dvd are connected by a scart cable. Dolby pro logic is very good from the dvd player, however, when watching sky movies, there is some centre channel (dialogue) coming through the surround speakers and this dialogue sounds as if the person is speaking underwater (ie distorted) - this can only be heard very close up to the speakers. Can someone tell me if this is normal for sky?

7. red111

red111