1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 36ZP38 and TiVo - HELP!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by James P, Jan 31, 2004.

  1. James P

    James P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just set up my new ZP38, and found a bizarre problem when using Tivo. The TV works normally until you use the AV button to switch to the TiVo's AV channel, and then suddenly the remote and fascia buttons stop working. It's almost as if the Tivo is 'jamming' them somehow. Switch the TiVo off, and things work fine. Have the TiVo on, but keep the TV off the TiVo's AV channel, and things work fine. It's only when I'm trying to watch the TiVo that the TV remote and buttons just stop working. :(

    I've played around with the TV and TiVo settings, but no joy. Has anyone else had this? Or does someone know how to fix it?

    All help gratefully received!
     
  2. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    There was a similar problem with certain Philips TVs a while back, not aware of Toshiba issues.
    You may receive more replys if you try here.

    www.tivocommunity.com :)
     
  3. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    What scart are you using the Tivo on ??
     
  4. James P

    James P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Cheers for the suggestion - I actually called the Toshiba helpline, and they think it sounds as though the remotes for the two devices work on the same frequency, and are therefore clashing. Sounds plausible, I guess.

    I've tried it on 1 and 2, but with no difference.
     
  5. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    If its the remote control codes that are clashing , the problem will still be there if you disconnect the Tivo from the Tv set.

    Does the problem still happen if you disconnect the Tivo from the Tv set ?
     
  6. James P

    James P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    No - the problem doesn't even occur when the TiVo is on and connected, but the TV is on a different AV or terrestrial input. It only occurs when I'm trying to watch the TiVo - as soon as I switch to the relevant AV channel, my TV remote stops working. If I switch the TiVo off, it works again. :confused:
     
  7. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    Have u tried it with pins 8 and 10 of the scart lead removed? Does it do it in scart 3 ??

    Where are u BTW?
     
  8. Retrospek

    Retrospek
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    The Tivo has a problem with some newer TV's.

    However, the good news is that if you phone Tivo customer services they will download a new version of the Tivo Software which will fix the problem. I believe the problem is something to do with the teletext signal.

    I had the same problem as you with my 36ZP38 and my TIVO.

    However, one phone call to Tivo (and a wait of two hours for the software update) fixed the problem and I haven't had any problems since !

    Just phone Tivo and ask for the software update for the teletext bug.

    Hope this helps..

    Mark
     
  9. James P

    James P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Phonecall made, and problem soon to be sorted - many thanks for that.

    Delius - cheers for your help - it seems that it's a TiVo software issue after all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...