1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 36zp18p to sony davsr2 need help

Discussion in 'TVs' started by obi, Jul 15, 2005.

  1. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    Hi

    I have my sony dav sr2 hooked up to my toshiba 36zp18p using a profigold pgv7500 RGB scart. I was expecting it to give me a better picture quality but it seems to be exactly the same as using a cheap scart that I bought with the dav system.

    I have changed the settings on my dav to rgb but still no change - can someone give me any advice on what I may need to do on my T.V to accept rgb - I relize that it does have a rgb scart on the t.v but which one is it??

    Any help would be great
     
  2. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    Can any one give me any help with this?
     
  3. nig28

    nig28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    You wont neccessarily see any difference between cheap and expensive scart leads, just like car tyres you could spend £20 on remoulds, £30 on budjet tyres or £60 on the top brand, 95% of the time there will be no difference at all.
    Nigel
     
  4. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    What would you reccomend I do to improve the picture quality??
     
  5. nig28

    nig28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    What is your problem, is it a poor picture on DVDs only? Do you get lines or haze?
    Have you tried another sourse, ie. sky box / DVD box
    Is it a good picture when watching TV?
    Nigel
     
  6. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +487
    check connection on rear are all the scarts RGB enabled its usually no 3 that is
     
  7. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    obi,

    RGB scart on that set is scart 1 it should have a box with 3 dots in it. (next to it, or above it.) i used to have this set its great :D . enable rgb on the dvd and patch it through that.

    i dont agree with Nig28 though a £30 scart should give you a better pic than a really cheap one.

    any problems let me know.

    oh how have you been watching this before? (what sockets equipment etc)

    Gary
     
  8. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    I had previously just used a cheap scart into scart 1 socket from the dvd player as the dav sr2 only has the option for scart. I have now got the rgb scart into the rgb socket into my t.v and the picture is still poor fuzy when subtitles are on etc. I have it enabled on my dvd (rgb) but it still seems the same?

    Do I need to change any settings on my t.v?

    thanks in advance.
     
  9. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    get around the back of the tv and look for the correct RGB scart - i'm sure its 1 (but i might be wrong :( ) make sure its in the right one (small square with 3 dots in it to denote its the RGB one) have a look at the picture and see how it looks. then try it in a non RGB scart the picture should look much worse now.

    the only thing you would need to do with TV is maybe change the colour/contrast etc. but you'll need AVIA or DVE to do that effectively (in case your wondering and dont know, they are professional calibration discs)

    i'm a it puzzeled because the RGB picture should be fairly solid.

    let me know


    Gary
     
  10. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    Still no joy - I dont understand I used to have my xbox through rgb and the picture quality was a lot better - It is a bit frustrating is there any other way of improving the picture say scart to composite?
     
  11. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    i ran my xbox on the RGB scart and my DVD on the component sockets, but as you sony doesnt output componant - your stuffed on that route.

    i'm really confused as to why the picture is bad though. does the sony output RGB? some dont.

    Sorry if i'm not being very helpful :confused:

    Gary
     
  12. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    Yeah the sony does have rgb. The picture quality isnt exactly horrible but when ever subtitles are on there are blurred a bit. I thought this scart would sort that out but it doesnt seem to have changed.
     
  13. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    have you tried subtitles from different DVD's some of them are really naff anyway.


    Gary
     
  14. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    Possibly but it should show a difference in the picture as well but there seems to be no change. I am going to dig out the manual for the t.v and see if there is something that I need to do.
     
  15. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    i dont think there is anything you need to do to the tv as its just a slave. its all to do with sony.


    gary
     
  16. obi

    obi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    Damn the dav!! I shouldnt of rushed into buying it :mad:
     
  17. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    :confused:

    Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...