1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 36ZP18P audio upgrade

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by cliveg, Nov 8, 2002.

1. cliveg

cliveg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm looking to upgrade the audio on my Toshiba 36" flatscreen. I feel the sound could be better if I piped the audio through an amp and ugraded the speakers. Or could I just upgrade the supplied speakers? If so which would be compatible? Would it make much difference if I kept the speakers and just upgraded the speaker cables? Sorry for all questions...I'm a bit new to this!

Thanks in advance.

2. juboy

juboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    To really make a worthwhile difference (and, even on a budget it will make a HUGE difference) you really need to get a dedicated AV amp and speakers.

Assuming you just want better, decent sound rather than top of the range, pro-audio you should be able to do it for £800 or so.

3. cliveg

cliveg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for that...it's appreciated. I guess by getting an amp and speakers it would make the dolby digital processing defunct in the TV? Could you recommend a decent setup? Wouldn't really want to spend much more than about £600. Would I have to worry about ohms and stuff??

One more question (sorry!)...What is the difference between normal and 100hz settings? The only difference I see is text a bit shaky on 100hz

Thanks again

4. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    clive, I've got a 32zp tv and went through the same questions. There is a huge difference if you get a amp + seperate speakers. You may need a little more than £600 because extra costs of decent cable /plugs/stands etc. bump up the cost alot.