1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 350 aspect via HDMI

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Martin1531, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. Martin1531

    Martin1531
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Newbie question

    Have connected a Tosh 350 to Panny 500 using the HDMI connection. Picture is great, but its aspect only takes up about 1/3 of the TV screen, and I can't change it either via the DVD player or the TV (apart from using the zoom feature and cutting off the picture), and the TV aspect change button doesn'tt even seem to work when viewing a DVD.

    Is this just a 'feature' of using the HDMI socket? Would using the comp connection make a difference?

    Thanks
     
  2. Craigy

    Craigy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    Got my Toshiba 350 connected upto my JVC LT37DS6 via HDMI and am having none of the problems you are having, have you set your video out to component on the player?
     
  3. Martin1531

    Martin1531
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Arrh.

    Have to confess I just connected the hdmi cable. I will try that setting as well..

    many thanks....
     
  4. Craigy

    Craigy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    Make sure you also have the player set to 16:9 Widescreen
     
  5. Martin1531

    Martin1531
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Craigy... so used to plug and play......;)
     
  6. Craigy

    Craigy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    Has it worked then?
     
  7. Martin1531

    Martin1531
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still at work so will try it when i get home, but as I havn't even gone into the function setup menu on the DVD yet there is a good chance ;) It seemed that when i plugged the HDMI cable in, it bypassed all the TV settings (picture aspect anyway). I havn't played with the DVD setup yet but it makes sense.

    thanks again
     
  8. Craigy

    Craigy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    No probs, try the different hdmi settings on the remote, i think it defaults to 1080i, i prefer to use 720p, I was watching Monsters Inc last night cause I only got the player a couple of days ago, and I have never seen a picture like it.
     
  9. Martin1531

    Martin1531
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now if there was only a way to turn off the 200 watt blue light on the front of the player! Honestly I can read the paper with it...
     
  10. Craigy

    Craigy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    I know, the good thing is I am used to that now, first couple of films I watched I found myself drawn to it, its like one of them devices shops use to kill insects.
     
  11. C.Wolf

    C.Wolf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    You can turn the blue floodlight off. I think I found this in the set up menu :smashin:
     
  12. Craigy

    Craigy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    Correct, under FL.Dimmer
     
  13. ajm295

    ajm295
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to butt in, but I'm considering a Toshiba 350. What Hi-fi S&V's current HD Edition gave it a good review, but reported that they found the pq on component cables to be better than over hdmi. Just wondering if you guys have found the same thing?
     

Share This Page

Loading...