Toshiba 34 - probs recording from a VCR

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Albo1960, May 7, 2005.

  1. Albo1960

    Albo1960
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have recently purchased a new Tosh 34 and am getting ready for the marathon taks of archiving millions of old videos. I have bought two cables to connect the video from the scart connection to the front of the tosh - am using a scart to s-video and a separate red and white audio cable.

    When I try to play the video through the tosh this way the colour is all washed out - in fact you couldn't really call it colour at all. It may be an adjustment that needs to be made to the inputs of the tosh but I can't find out where this should be.

    Any ideas?

    many thanks

    Albo
     
  2. onzey

    onzey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Albo1960

    Albo1960
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks

    I'll check it out

    Albo
     
  4. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Or more basic - does your VCR support S-video? Most don't. If not, use the composite video connections.

    Mark
     
  5. knotpc

    knotpc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +18
    I backed up lots of tapes on the TOSH, most have seen an improvement, some are very much improved others not so. I used the inputs on the front of the TOSH. I'm not sure why it improves the picture but it usually does. :beer:
     
  6. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    On the front of the Tosh, the yellow RCA socket is the composite video. For an ordinary VCR, this is the one to use. If the VCR supports S-video then you can use the S-video connection (round black one, with multiple pins).

    Mark
     
  7. Albo1960

    Albo1960
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mark

    It now looks like my video doesn't do s-video - should I then try and get a scart to yellow, red and white lead?

    Alan
     
  8. sinclair

    sinclair
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the scart convertor out of the VCR into the composite leads that came with the XS34 and it works fine.
     
  9. podgerodge

    podgerodge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Albo1960

    Would appreciate if you could do us a favour - I'm in Ireland and planning to purchase an XS34 but it is not available in Ireland . I want to purchase it on the net but no-one is able to tell me whether the tuner has VHF availability on it as well as UHF. In Ireland all cable channels are broadcast on VHF. If you notice on yours could you let me know? Thanks!
     
  10. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Yes, or as Sinclair suggested, a converter, something like:

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=-9471&TabID=1&source=14&doy=12m5

    Note some of these are input only, some output only, some do both (have a switch). You need one with a switch, or output only.

    Mark
     
  11. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Per the XS34 installation manual, Page 31, it supports:
    VHF A – J (1 – 10), 11, 13, E2 – E12 (82 – 92)

    (Same on the XS32 which I have).

    Mark
     
  12. SDHoward

    SDHoward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does going through the front give you a better picture than the norma scart at the back?... just wondering... I could check I spose :)
     
  13. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    No, shouldn't make any difference (as long as the SCART cable/connector is decent quality).
    Mark
     
  14. podgerodge

    podgerodge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Redsox Mark

    That sorts it for me - PAL I , UHF and VHF = if it doesn't work in Ireland it's broken!

    Thanks for all comments, will purchase the XS34 when I can find a uk retailer that will send to Ireland - most don't. I've found Electricaldiscountuk.co.uk will send it for £35 on top of uk delivery charge. Amazon.co.uk would be a lot cheaper but don't seem to stock it yet..
     
  15. Albo1960

    Albo1960
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry podgerodge for not getting back but it seems you got your answer from Mark - he's very helpful.

    I bought a JVC scart to red, yellow and white cable from Curries (£14.99) and this didn't work either but then (a) I noticed that it had a switch (as Redsox Mark pointed out) and (b) it worked the wrong way ie when it says "out" it actually means "in" so I changed the setting and tried again and it seems to work.

    Am now recording a two hour VHS tape onto the Hard Drive so will shortly find out if it works.

    Albo
     
  16. Albo1960

    Albo1960
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those of you on the edge of your seats........

    Success - the two hour tape was successfully recorded onto the HDD and then burnt onto a DVD.

    Now we're cooking with gas.

    Thanks for helping me out, (and staying awake) for this epic saga.

    Albo
     
  17. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Albo,

    Great - glad you got it sorted.

    Mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice