1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 32ZP38B Sound Question

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Barrovian, Jul 27, 2004.

  1. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +54
    I'm considering the Tosh 32ZP38B Picture Frame TV and have a question about it's sound settings.
    I'm aware it has on board Dolby Digital and Pro - logic, but as I intend to use the set with an amp, I would not be using any external speakers attached directly to the set itself. However I do not use the amp all the time, (so as not to upset the neighbours) so my question is, does the set have two 'on board' speakers, to enable bog standard Nicam listening for day to day use, or do you have to use external front speakers? I've downloaded the manual from the Toshiba site, but it does not make it clear if that is an option. I know it may seem a waste paying for on board Dolby Digital and not using it, but I'm restricted by the width of the set, and this is the slimmest 32'' set I've seen.
    Any other comments about the tv, good or bad, would be welcomed.
    Thanks
     
  2. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +54
    A bit sad this, replying to my own post.. but there must be someone out there who knows the answer to my question above. Please??
     
  3. Moo242

    Moo242
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You do not need to use the external speakers.

    There is switch on the back of the set which lets you toggle between external and internal speaker use.
     
  4. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +54
    Thanks for the info, Moo. I was hoping that would be the case.
     
  5. lagrian

    lagrian
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe too late but,

    You only have to use the switch to switch between the external surround speakers using amp and external speakers connected to the TV.

    For instance I use an external amp for my sound but when I don't want to upset the neighbours I just turn the amp off and crank up the TV volume, the internal speakers and subwoofer work this way.

    The only reason u need to physcally move that switch is if you plug in external speakers straight into the TV as well as use an external amp
     
  6. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +54
    Cheers Lagrian,
    I've made up my mind about getting a 32zp38B, the only trouble I'm having now is getting hold of one!
     

Share This Page

Loading...