1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 32wl56 full spec inside

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by brock_landers, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. brock_landers

    brock_landers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    lancashire
    Ratings:
    +0
    There seems to be a lot of controversy over the spec of this new Toshiba model. Here is the official specification:-

    Resolution – WXGA 1280 x 720
    Active Vision LCD Picture Processing
    Real Digital Picture Processing
    Brightness – 500cd/m2
    Contrast – 800:1
    Viewing Angle – 170 degrees (Vertical & Horizontally)
    HDMI x 1
    SCART x 2
    Composite x 1
    Audio Output – SRS WOW 20W
    Floor stand will be an optional extra

    Interestingly, no component input.........

    Brock.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,597
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +282
    Without a component input they can't claim it to be HD ready - seems a strange move by Toshiba. :suicide:

    Steve
     
  3. nemo

    nemo
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    And the resolution is lower than the 32WL48's 1366 x 768
     
  4. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +529
    Where did you get the specs for this??

    It seems very very strange for Toshiba not to include component inputs...just about every one of their home cinema TV's have had component inputs for the past 5 years.
     
  5. Howardlee

    Howardlee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been told by TVandVideo direct there is no component on this model. I have seen the brochure for the German model(it has the same model number). It has a res of 1366 X 768, 2 scarts(1RGB), no component.
     
  6. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +529
    This must be their cheap and cheerful model then.....although not bad value i guess with HDMI!!
     
  7. Zigster

    Zigster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm confused: I thought HDTV is going to be piped through HDMI or DVI-D not component.
     
  8. DanH

    DanH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +56
    Your technically correct, and Toshiba can claim it is HD ready, but it cant carry the "HDTV Ready" logo, as the rules for carrying this logo say the panel must accept 720p/1080i 50/60hz through both component connections and HDMI/DVI with HDCP.
     
  9. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,597
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +282
  10. Zigster

    Zigster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. Very useful.

    You're right - seems very odd that Toshiba would miss out the component connection - the 32WL56 is effectively HDTV ready, they're just not allowed to label it as such. Still :confused: , just for different reasons now!

    PS. Couldn't access it through the link you posted - not sure why. I found it by going to their website and searching the press releases for the 20 Jan 2005 "HD Ready" document.
     
  11. andrewf

    andrewf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +28
  12. Howardlee

    Howardlee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you click on Technische Datan, the 32wl56 only has 2 av inputs, no mention of component. Click on 48 it says 3 av inputs and component.
     
  13. tosh hunter

    tosh hunter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is component used for again...i read it before but have forgotten with all the dvi and hdmi input debate
     
  14. andrewf

    andrewf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +28
    its all a bit confusing!!

    as you say the Technische Datan tab says only 2 AV in, though the anschlusse tab lists three. The Datan tab does include Prog scan under 'Bild' though and I thought this only came with component.
     

Share This Page

Loading...