Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Toshiba 32PZ48 and progressive scan

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by PUD the Ancient, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. PUD the Ancient

    PUD the Ancient
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +156
    Just confirmed by Toshiba tech support that it only supports pal progressive scan and not ntsc progressive (480p).Just for your info incase anyone is interested. I am now looking at the Panasonic 32pd50, does anyone konw if this supports ntsc progressive.
     
  2. Respighi

    Respighi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a suprise to me. Does anyone know if this is also true of the 36ZP48? I thought they could both handle NTSC progressive scan.
     
  3. PUD the Ancient

    PUD the Ancient
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +156
    Yes neither the 36zp48 or the 32zp48 will accept ntsc progressive. Called toshiba on friday and they did not know the answer but they called me back today. Not the answer I was looking for but good customer service.
     
  4. Respighi

    Respighi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Paul. That's a bit of a shame as some of my favourite discs are NTSC. I'm still sticking with the Tosh though :)
     
  5. PUD the Ancient

    PUD the Ancient
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +156
    No good for me as I need ntsc progressive for my xbox and ps2.
     
  6. allengn

    allengn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sutton Coldfield
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's interesting, when the owner's manual, at the bottom of Page 6 states:
    This seems to suggest that it will allow a Progressive NTSC input, but that certain of the menu functions will not work.
     
  7. Respighi

    Respighi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm...the plot thickens. Has anyone actually tried playing an NTSC progressive signal through the Toshiba?
     
  8. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Yes, I have a number of NTSC films which are flagged prog scan and they look great but I have no idea how to check if the TV sees them correctly
     
  9. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Me too ,tried a ntsc prog disc today no probs at all.
     
  10. Respighi

    Respighi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. Well as long as they look great that's the main thing. :)
     
  11. PUD the Ancient

    PUD the Ancient
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +156
    Does anyone have a console ie xbox they can try in ntsc progressive as toshiba do not seem to know anything about there own products.
     
  12. rob27

    rob27

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yeah i have a chipped xbox that has the enigma software so i can change from pal to ntsc.

    Not getting my tv until the 21st as Tv&VD monged the order up !
     
  13. Respighi

    Respighi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    One more nugget of information regarding the ZP48 and NTSC progressive scan; from the Toshiba website:

    "...Progressive Scan delivers perfectly smooth edges to lines and curved objects. This is ideal when viewing NTSC material (DVD/Videos from N. America or Japan) which are made up of fewer lines of information than the European systems."

    (http://www.home-entertainment.toshi...e.nsf/pages/whatis-pf3-trueimage?opendocument)

    So it seems it most certainly can handle NTSC progressive scan.
     
  14. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +384
    The older model toshiba tvs only used to support ntsc progressive scan and not pal progressive scan so dont see why the newer models wouldnt support ntscprogressive scan. :suicide:
     
  15. Rushy

    Rushy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +16
    I've ran my Tosh ZP48 in progresive scan using an NTSC signal with no problems at all. I'm 100% certain its running in progressive scan too, not only by looking at it, but whilst the NTSC DVD is running and I enter the TV Menu the option to change scan modes has been removed (which always occurs when progressive scan input isbeing fed in).
     
  16. Ryall

    Ryall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just about to pick one of these up myself.

    I've been hearing the same thing, however, that the Tosh can't display 60hz NTSC signals. The top and bottom of the screens are cut. Any truth in this?

    I'll be using mine for gaming, and to watch the odd DVD. Just about every game and DVD that I own is NTSC format.
     
  17. lmaolmao

    lmaolmao
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +175
    hi,

    does work on 480p 60hz. but yes, some of the image will be cropped off top and bottom. I can photograph if you like, let me know what game, and i'll see if i've got it (so you can compare easily).

    xbox1 only outputs 480p 60hz ntsc and it works great, so i can confirm that 480p works fine. i have used 480p from several machines inc. ps2, ntsc xbox, uk xbox360 and ntsc ps3 and pal wii.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice