1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 27WL55 (27wl46...) £499!!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Bilbob, May 20, 2005.

  1. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +292
    All,
    I've found this on Pixmania... 27wl55 for £499!!

    Now I've done some research via google and toshiba themselves, and it appears this is a set made for the French market, and is basically a 27wl46 remade.

    Whether it sorts the DVI issue I don't know, but the price is EXTREMELY GOOD for a branded 27" set, especially as it's a genuine 1280x720 set with decent connectivity. As I said, I don't know if it sorts the DVI issues from the 46, but at 499, and you can try it and return if need be.... bit of a bargain I may well take up myself...
     
  2. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    So does this set have component etc like the 27wl46.
     
  3. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +292
    At first, the only info I could find was what was on Pix's webby, so I tried an international google, and found a bit more, but still nothing concrete.
    So I phoned Tosh, and got an incredibly helpful bloke who didn't know what I was talking about! So he offered to find out more, and call me back when he knew... And he did, and told me the stuff about being a french model, but that it's basically a 46... so shouldn't be hard to find out...

    But like I said, it's a mail order company, so you can buy it, try it, and return it if it doesn't suit... even free returns with Pix too...
     
  4. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So basically... no component inputs then?

    Would have considered this one for my parent's bedroom, but lack of component inputs is offputting.. nice price though! :smashin:

    Ben
     
  5. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    Yeah very nice i take it i can use pc via vga and use something else via dvi.
     
  6. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    I have went for one of these, they arnt in stock yet but ill let you know what they are like. I will be using mine mostly as a pc moniter and the odd game and movie so ill give a little review when i have it setup.
     
  7. Bonjourdel

    Bonjourdel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anyone got one of these sets yet?

    I am considering buying one but thought I would see if there was any feedback? £499 for a 27" LCD is good value.

    Cheers
     
  8. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if this supports HD via DVI?

    I'm about to buy one but if it doesn't do this, then I won't.

    Phil.
     
  9. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    It wont supposrt skyhd as it isnt hdcp over dvi. But if you mean off the pc then it supports if over vga as well because it has 1280*720 native res.
     
  10. DigiDunk

    DigiDunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any idea what the warranty is with this set. Is it an onsite swap, a collect and return or do you have to send it back to Pixmania. If its a French model then maybe Toshiba UK won't handle it ? I take it its 1 year Anybody bought one yet Pixmania is showing them in stock. Anybody seen any reviews ?
     
  11. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    I have seen lots of reviews for the 55 model which someone phone toshiba uk and they said this model was just the 55 but named the 48 in france. there is reviews on here of the 55 model.
     
  12. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you have the 2 model numbers mixed up supermackem; it's the 46 (NOT 48 btw) that's widely available in the UK, and the 55 is the French model. ;)

    Ben
     
  13. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    yep lol other way around it should be.
     
  14. deeplyblue

    deeplyblue
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I see that on the Tosh site it lists "PC compatible", but does not mention a VGA input specifically - could they be relying on the DVI input for the PC connection? If so you will (a) have to have a DVI graphics card and (b) have to swap cables if you want DVI for anything else.

    db
     
  15. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    No im pretty sure you can use vga as a few people have the uk model and are using vga.
     
  16. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gone down to £479 now too!

    I'm gonna buy one... **** it, we only live once! :).

    Edit: Also, the site has been update and now says "PC VGA Input" :).

    Phil.
     
  17. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've now got this ordered!

    I hear the 46 (French Version?) had some DVI problems so I'm hoping they're fixed here :).

    Phil.
     
  18. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    hmmmmm I could be looking to get this, if anyone has this could they please tell me what it looks like when using as a telly?

    Want one in me room :p
     
  19. Bonjourdel

    Bonjourdel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am interested in buying one. However, a small issue with the warranty is putting me off at the moment.

    Pixmania told me via email that the warranty was with Toshiba UK. I phoned Toshiba and they said they would not cover it in the UK since it is a french model. This would mean having to post the TV back to France if there were any problems.

    I have emailed Pixmania again to ask for some more clarification as to what warranty cover they will provide.
     
  20. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Keep us posted mate cos this will we either mean buy or not for me.

    Thanks
     
  21. Italights

    Italights
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not quite clear on a few points. Is this tv able to do HD via the dvi input? and is it wall hangable?
     
  22. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I recall correctly, it won't do Sky HD as it has no HDMI, BUT it has a resolution of 1280x720 which means it can play HD material via the PC which is fine for me, as it's a monitor, not a TV :).

    ... I'm not sure if it's wall hangable and that was my intention, but I'll make it hang wether it "can be" or not :).

    I'll keep you all posted with Photo's and stuff, just have to wait for it now, should be about Wednesday.

    Phil.
     
  23. RichyBoy

    RichyBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    would be interested in the warrenty issue also, as i am looking at getting this set when i take my sonix set back.....
     
  24. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, when I payed my Toshiba 27WL55 I also got some Zen Gurantee thing which basically entitles you to a 100% refund if the panel stops working. It lasts for a year too :).

    Funny thing is, I emailed Toshiba about the 27WL55, and the guy said that Toshiba don't even do that model. Strange. I sent him the Pixmania link and I'm just waiting for them to get back to me now :).

    Phil.
     
  25. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    Yeah tosh really have got themselfes in a mess. They have that many models out etc, they dont know where they are at. I have just got the 27,56 model and its an amazing panel very nice. So i can recommend that one the only difference i see btween the 55 and 56 is the dvi being a hdmi on the 56 and the overall design. If you aint to fussed about using it for sky hd then i would jump for one of these at the price pix have it.
     
  26. Bonjourdel

    Bonjourdel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am going to ring Pixmania and Toshiba again on Tuesday (after Bank holiday) to clear the warranty issue up. Will let you know what they say.
     
  27. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah well pixmania have some sort of zen thing you can take out for upto a year so if anything breaksdown you will get all your money back :D BUT! You can only spend it on anything on that website :eek: .
     
  28. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeh, the "spend on their website" clause is a little crappy but it's better than nothing I guess 'cause if it breaks, I'll want to replace it anyway.

    Phil.
     
  29. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Doesnt look like I will be getting one of these now:(

    Looks like CRT for me now anyways
     
  30. OvertoneBliss

    OvertoneBliss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why's that? The stupid company only "Gurantee"?

    I just hope I can wall mount the thing 'cause I'm gonna have to go all customised on it's ass otherwise :devil:.

    Phil.
     

Share This Page

Loading...