1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba 20WL56?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Batch, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    Hi,

    I am thinking of getting the Toshiba 20WL56 20" LCD Soon, but have a question first.

    This TV has a resolution of 1366 x 768 and a component connection, but no dvi(meaning that it can't be HD-Ready, i think).

    Anyway, Would it be possible to hook the xbox 360 up to this TV via component and view it in 720p? Even thought it is not A HD-Ready TV?

    Thanks

    Batch
     
  2. jon2099

    jon2099
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +4
  3. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    Thanks, if you do find out, please post as i would be very interested to know!
     
  4. fourmthree

    fourmthree
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been trying to work this out with Toshiba as well. They state that the unit:

    "...has HD input, but no HD output."

    Hmmm.

    Perhaps it's only to support progressive-scan from DVD? Surely I'll still be able to view NTSC 480p from my Xbox though? It's got to be better than standard 576i PAL...
     
  5. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +824
    That website seemed to be pretty clear about it. It has no DVI or HDMI input, so it isn't HD ready, but it can still accept and display a 720p or 1080i input over component. It would probably also accept those inputs over VGA, as well.

    Nick
     
  6. fourmthree

    fourmthree
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you explain that to me? I've just spent a whack of money on official Xbox component cables and some 720p/1080i games to show my new LCD off.

    I don't understand the science behind it all quite yet.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +824
    There are two ways of looking at HD.

    1. HD "compatible", which is unofficially anything with at least 720 horizontal lines of physical resolution, and any input that will accept HD video. In practice, VGA and component usually do.

    2. HD ready, which is officially at least 720 lines and HDMI or DVI digital video inputs and HDCP content protection and component inputs and everything accepts 50Hz and 60Hz video inputs.

    HD ready is the safe option for future compatibility with Sky HD and Blu-Ray. You will know that you can just plug it in and play away.

    However, you can still watch HD video without HD ready, such as with D-VHS or Xbox 360, it's just that most HD media (satellite, discs) are likely to be HDCP copyright protected, and it will be kind of difficult to watch it without.

    Nick
     
  8. fourmthree

    fourmthree
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great. Thanks for taking the time to reply!

    So, in practice, when I unlock the NTSC video settings on my Xbox (480i, 720p and 1080i) and hook it all up using component my TV should output in any one of those settings, yes?

    EDIT:
    I can confirm the above is true regarding this LCD. My Xbox games look like they were designed to. Colours and textures are simply MINT.
     

Share This Page

Loading...