Tosh vs panny vs pioneer HDD DVD recorders

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nunew33, Jan 28, 2004.

  1. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Please correct me if ive got anything wrong

    Tosh:
    60GB, DVD RAM, no componant,

    Panny:
    40GB, DVD RAM, no componant, RGB in, PCMCIA slot

    Pioneer:
    80GB, No DVD RAM, no componant,

    Assuming I am happy with 40G min and I choose to live without componant and RGB in.

    The Tosh is the cheapest, why would I pay more for the others?
    What "key" differences other than those above have I not considered?
     
  2. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    I couldn't see any major difference ar advantages either which is why i bought the Tosh back in August. Most happy with it. On the recordings i've made from Sky or back up's of Vhs (which was pretty crap quality to start with) i can't see the results being much or any better if the Tosh had RGB.

    Panic
     
  3. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmm.

    Just thought, connectivity could be an issue. I was hoping to replace DVD player and VCR. But DVD is connected to Projector via componant, so no need to replace. IF I wanted to benefit from RGB out then I would need to connect to projector using scart->VGA which is being used by Sky. With no RGB pass thru, it would mean either sky or Tosh but not both, unless I went for Panny.

    Its going to be a mess!
     
  4. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Pioneer does RGB pass thru, just doenst record in RGB, which ive not found to be a problem
     
  5. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    does the tosh do RGB pass through?
     
  6. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes it does

    it has a splendid sat monitor function

    so you can use your dvd to record terrestrial or burn a dvd whilst still watching sky via rgb. Do you have standard sky or sky+? If you have standard sky you will have a problem with the tosh in that, as you are aware it does not accept rgb. Unfortunately standard sky does not output s-video so you will be left with pretty poor composite.

    You could however buy an rgb to s-video converter.

    If you have sky+ then I would definitely go for the Tosh no question. It is a fabulous machine.

    I did a quite long thread on this very topic. Listing all the pros and cons. it is probably on page 3 or 4 by now
     
  7. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks bobbles. I have the grundig sky box which does have svid out! (must chage my kit list)

    Im half tempted to wait for a componant out model, but if one did come out id have to wait another 6 months before they droped to the tosh price.

    Theres no DV in either is there on the tosh?
     
  8. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Quick question for Bobbles.
    Up till now i've had normal Sky with no s-video. To-morrow , weather permitting , i'm getting Sky+ installed. Will s-video make a huge difference do you think connection wise from Toshiba to Sky box?
    Cheers
    Panic
     
  9. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    S-video will offer improved quality recordings over composite,which is presumably what you have been using
     
  10. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanx Phelings. Yeah i've been using composite till now , i'll nip out and buy a lead to-day in preperation although with all the snow around i'm thinking i'll get a call from the ariel boy saying install for Sky's off till next week :(
    Still that leaves time for some sledging on my day off :)

    Panic
     

Share This Page

Loading...