Tosh TV and SD220 DVD Help !!!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by tobytyke, Dec 21, 2002.

  1. tobytyke

    tobytyke
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I've just purchased a Toshiba 32ZP18Q TV (well impressed too) and have linked my Tosh SD220 DVD player via component leads and optical digital audio lead to it.

    The only problem is I get excellent sound but no picture. Is there something else I've missed. I understand that these are the only cables required for such a configuration.

    Any help gratefully received 'coz it's doing my head in !


    Cheers

    :confused:
     
  2. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +447
    Have you set your dvd player to "video" and not "RGB"?
    RGB signal can only travel through the scart lead whereas
    component leads can only transport a video signal.
     
  3. tobytyke

    tobytyke
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only problem is how do I get the DVD menus on screen since I can't get anything (apart from sound) from the DVD ???

    Do I need to temporarily connect via SCART and make the changes ?

    :confused:

    Cheers
     
  4. tobytyke

    tobytyke
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks BowenJones for your help - it now works a treat !!!

    Cheers
    ;)
     
  5. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +447
    No problem,
    Mind you, why are you using component leads when
    you would get a much better picture if you used a decent
    scart lead ?
    RGB produces a far superior picture compared to video and
    you can pick up a good scart lead from argos for under £15.
    There are better quality scart leads about such as one's
    from QED but you'd only see the benefit if you had a larger
    screen size.
    Oh, and bye the way,
    do you have composite inputs on your toshiba tv as the
    composite leads are supposed to give you the optimum
    picture quality although I can't confirm that because I don't
    have the input sockets on my philips 32" w/s tv.
    I ase an oxygen free scart lead which I bought from argos
    a couple of years ago and I'm more than happy with it.
     
  6. MarkB4506

    MarkB4506
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Bowenjones - I'm afraid you're a little confused. Toby - keep the YPbPr component video connection.
     
  7. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +447
    tobytyke,
    Forget my last reply as I have had a little too much to drink
    and therefore got my components and composites in a twist!!!
    If you do happen to get a scart lead let me know how the
    picture compares to the component set-up you have as I read
    a review stating that the component quality isn't up to scratch
    on the 220.
    My apoligies again for the alcohol influenced stupidity that was
    my last reply...hic!
     
  8. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +447
    MarkB4506,
    I realised my mistake as soon as I posted so I tried to get
    in there and hide my shame but you beat me to it!!!
    A warning to all forum users.....
    DON'T USE WHILE DRUNK !!!
     
  9. MarkB4506

    MarkB4506
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    By seconds it seems!!

    :p

    Merry Christmas
     
  10. ajoshi

    ajoshi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I would like to find out if RGB is better then a set of components. As I am looking to buy a new tv based on that decision. the rest of my kit i have already purchased.

    So far I have got Monitor Audio silver av package (9i, 4i and 12i) with yamaha az1 amp and denon 3800 dvd player. The tv choice i have got is either Tosh (36zd) with components or Phillips (36" 9607) which dosen't have components.
     
  11. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    component inputs are without a doubt better than RGB IMO but i am no expert
     

Share This Page

Loading...