1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tosh sd900e

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nobby, May 23, 2002.

  1. nobby

    nobby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    wee Norn Iron
    Ratings:
    +17
    :blush:

    hi

    i see a number of users have recently purchased this player from LEConcepts at the remarkable price of 699.

    i was wondering do u know if the machine is a grey import or is graded. if its definately a uk source model i would be really interested.

    are they providing a warranty with the player?

    i would appreciate feedback asap, cause i am very much torn between this player and the pioneer 747a

    what do u guys think.

    cheers
     
  2. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +300
    Read there site I think somethings mentioned somewhere that it is UK model/spec.
    It mentions the box and the power cable as identifiers to tell grey imports.
    It is on the site somewhere i read it before ordering mine.
     
  3. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Hi

    Yes, they are UK spec models and at a great price too...
    It's a stunning player in all respects but doesn't play progressive scan on R2, not a problem though if you don't have a projector or plasma screen. The picture from the RGB scart socket will not disappoint.
     
  4. tiberious

    tiberious
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Snowman - do they not now claim it will do Pal Progressive ?

    - certainly the website clearly makes that claim.

    Anyone know for sure ?
     
  5. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've had my SD900 over a year and was one of the first in the country (this is not some childish boast). If it is true that the ones from LeConcepts do PAL progressive, do you think mine will or is it a special mod they have had done? I can't check this as my PJ doesn't allow progressive through component!

    Kane
     
  6. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Hi all

    The Tosh will output prog scan for R2 but is does it badly and its not true PAL prog scan. It down converts R2 to R1 to output it. Something very perculiar happens every 20 seconds or so, a slight glitch in the film is apparent like a single frame has been removed from the scene. Not very pleasent at all and very noticable.

    There was once a story on this and many other forums about a magical mystical cd rom that could be entered into the player and it done a firmware upgrade to enable true pal prog scan but it has never surfaced and if it was for real it would have turned up by now. And anyway I sure it would require a hardware upgrade as well.

    Dont let this put you off this is a cracking player and for £700 is a star buy, as Im sure your aware and have done all your research and read the reviews.
    The only player at the moment I would trust to do Pal prog scan is the Arcam DV27. The Pioneer 747A is getting some average reviews as being a good all rounder but not stunning.
     

Share This Page

Loading...