Tosh Sd900e/insomnia (r1) Problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Blu-rayx, Dec 25, 2002.

  1. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,106
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +217
    hi,

    has anyone had freezing problems with insomnia (r1).

    it plays fine in my old tosh 3109.


    dvd
     
  2. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +321
    Hi,

    None at all m8 you must have a bad disc.

    Bry
     
  3. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,882
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    dvd,

    this is the only disc my 900e has ever had a problem with. It freezes or stutters several times during the film. A quick press of the fast rewind button followed by 'play' continues the film as normal until the next hiccup.

    Hope this puts your mind at rest :)
     
  4. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,106
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +217
    urbanT,

    that dose put my mind at rest,do you think it's worth changing the disc?



    dvd
     
  5. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most definitely.

    It sounds more like a faulty DVD than an incompatibility. I have had 2 DVDs in my life that have behaved similarly (freezing, jittering, etc) - in both cases it was down to bad DVDs not incompatibilities and a replacement has been fine.

    Try a good wipe of the playing surface first and see if that helps but it's more likely to be something non visible like the bonding of the two disks being a bit cack in this particular instance.
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +937
    Hi

    Played Ok on my Tosh 900E. Maybe it´s the disc.:confused:
     
  7. daninthemix

    daninthemix
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have exactly the same problem. Not only does it freeze at several points throughout, but there's a quite a bit of HF distortion in the mix too...sounds like there might be a batch of bad discs, but why have no non-900E owners reported this :confused:
     
  8. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, perhaps DVD and Daninthemix should share who they bought their disks from, 'cause if it's the same supplier, that would really suggest a bad batch.....

    Distortion in HF mix wouldn't suggest a bad disk to me, as if it results in sound faults it would also register visual faults too unless this distortion occurs in same places as skipping. Otherwise, just suggests a bad mix. Presume Dan that you also have the R1 as opposed to the R3?
     
  9. daninthemix

    daninthemix
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    R3? No I have the R1. I bought from Play...they've said I can have it replaced, but a mate of mine is borrowing it at the mo...I'll have to ask him if he has had any problems with this disc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...