1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tosh SD900e and Chroma Bug

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by t-force, Sep 5, 2003.

  1. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    Well, after much humming and ha-ing, I've practically decided to take advantage of the insane price of the Tosh SD900e and pick one up. I've just realised though that there's one answer to it I haven't found: does it suffer from the Chroma bug? Perhaps an owner, or someone else who knows, would be able to tell me.

    Cheers,

    Toby
     
  2. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    don't wrry about it, this is a great buy
     
  4. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +133
    I have to agree. Having just got one you can only say one word about it - awesome, awesome and oh yeh, awesome.
     
  5. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    is that all just one word? ;)
     
  6. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Toby,

    I think a little too much is made of the chroma bug. 99.99999% of the time it won't be there and on the odd occasion where the player gets caught out you might blink and miss it. I've seen it twice, once on Toy Story and once on Fifth Element and only because I was looking for it to see what all the fuss was about. It's a non-event and won't spoil your enjoyment of this superb player. Mines nearly three years old and I haven't seen anything yet that has made me think of upgrading. Buy it before it's too late.
     
  7. Boxinghris

    Boxinghris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +173
    I just received my own Toshiba SD-900E on Friday (£499 - same deal as yourself?) after doing a little research beforehand, and although it does have the chroma-bug it's nothing worth bothering about.

    I'm mainly into audio and was tempted to opt for the SD-900E because of the superior analogue circuitry (and the price of course) - my then current Toshiba SD-510E sharing virtually the same remote and features also meant an easier time working out how to operate the damn thing.

    Very happy so far with the 900E, decent sound straight out the box with DVD-A and I could live with the sound via CD if the Transport or DAC I use are carted off for upgrading.

    Best Regards,
    Chris Redmond.
     
  8. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I say convert but it has just arrived and I haven't yet got it out of the box.

    Why do you guys think it is so great?

    I am looking for build quality and a good intelaced quality PAL picture. Not too bothered about PAL or NTSC progressive.

    Do you feel that for the price it has a good interlaced picture which I hope soon to take via a scalar into a Plasma display.

    Dave
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    At that price (and for more money!) you are unlikely to find a better interlaced picture. The SD900 is superb and I've still not seen anything that wants to make me change mine.
     
  10. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,086
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +209
    DEO


    The interlaced PQ is A1 :smashin:



    DVD :cool:
     
  11. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Does anyone know if the Tosh 900E is better at playing interlaced than the pioneer 737?

    cheers

    richard
     
  12. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, sounds like I have bought the right player.

    You can spend getting on for 2 grand on a Arcam DV27. I presume that has a better picture quality although I presume you are paying for a few extra bells and whistles including prog scan and CD sound.

    I have heard several times on this forum that if you want a good interlaced picture quality the Dv27 is about hte same as a cheap £200 player.

    That sounds like a waste! Does not hte same thing apply to the Tosh 900?
     
  13. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +133
    DEO
    I had a Sony 7700 which was a top of the range player in it's day and I thought it produced stunning interlaced output on my Toshiba Plasma until I saw what my 900e was like.
    The 900e is on another level. The detail is amazing, and if you ever do get a chance to try it's progressive NTSC mode your jaw will hit the floor.
    I don't think any of the current players, even ones costing considerably more will better it. Remember, this is a £1300 deck and should be compared with players in that price range.
     
  14. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Norman

    Your enthusiasm for the 900 is superb. But let's be cold and subjective, the 900 is not better (interlaced or progressive) than the Tosh 9500 which is £1500.

    I agree the 900 is better value for money.

    You said compare it to players costing around £1300 and that is (almost) what the 9500 does cost.

    Dave
     
  15. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27

    :eek:

    Where are you getting them for that price?? Best I've seen is £599. :(
     
  16. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,115
  17. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thank'e kindly. :D
     
  18. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read up on Leconcepts on these forums.

    Looking at another DVD player myself; is there another supplier selling them for £500?
     
  19. Boxinghris

    Boxinghris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +173
    For what it's worth, apart from indicating that the SD-900E was 'in stock' when in fact it wasn't for another fortnight, Leconcepts have been fine to deal with in my instance and today the receipt arrived all prim and proper.

    The player's multi-region by the way and is now installed in a high-end audio system where it's audio capabilities in particular prove excellent for a DVD player, with only a few days burn-in.

    For £509.99 delivered this is a steal IMO and justifies it's price just a CD player alone, and because of the solid build quality it would be worth investigating having a new clock + PSU installed to further improve audio (and video from what I've read).
     
  20. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the region change automatic or manual?
     
  21. Boxinghris

    Boxinghris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +173
  22. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +133
    I didn't imply (or perhaps didn't mean to) that this player was better than the current crop of players in the mentioned price bracket.
    What I did mean to say was that this player would have cost you £1300 not so very long ago and basically, a Rolls Royce doesn't stop being one just because it's been slighty upgraded.
    Although I haven't seen a 9500, I can't believe that it is significantly better than the 900e in either the video (Pal Progressive aside) or audio (SACD aside) departments.
    My enthusiasm over this player was only ever intended to let others know that they could own a DVD Video/Audio player that represents “almost” the very best the technology can offer at a ludicrously low price, and this offer is very time limited because once they’ve all gone, you will have to spend £1500 for an equivalent player which will obviously have a few more bells and whistles but nothing to justify the enormous price differential.
     
  23. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Norman, I totally agree with your sentiments.

    Dave
     
  24. Boxinghris

    Boxinghris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +173

    The impression given to me when I posted a question about the 9500E vs the older 900E was that the 9500E might have a slight edge in the video department - if any - but the older player definately had the better audio performance.

    The only obvious difference I can see in the specs is that the 900E has 10 bit 54 MHz video chips while the 9500E has 14 bit 108MHz. Experience with the audio side of specs has made me realise that higher bitrate/frequency processing isn't necessarily better and in many cases is worse (increased RFI distortion), but of course the uninitiated see the specs and assume an improved performance.

    I can well believe that the older player is a better sounding unit as when costs are being cut and profits maximised, the quality of the analogue components is secondary to the specs and a capacitor is just a capacitor to Joe Public.

    Any competent electrical engineer or modifier may well be able to install the newer chipsets for anyone so inclined and the fee for doinf this combined with the £499 price of a 900E should still be less than half the price of a 9500E, and you retain the better audio if the reports I got were true.
     
  25. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How come no one's mentioned the disc drawer yet? Isn't that the coolest loading action ever? Man, when that baby does it's thing it's so sexy it's almost porn.
     
  26. Boxinghris

    Boxinghris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +173

    What do you mean - 'almost'?:smoke:

    I tend to use the Toshiba for foreplay but for the main course, removing the cover (!) then watching the CDM1 transport mechanism of my old Wadia WT3200 is orgasmic. Die-cast alloy construction, smooth as silk but fast with it..........in fact I need to take a cold shower........:zonked:
     
  27. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +133
    Not so sure about this, it's very slick but I think my old Sony 7700 had the edge in coolest loading action ever.:smashin:
     
  28. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooh fighting talk. That's my bird you're talking about ;)
     
  29. Rainfall

    Rainfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've had the Tosh SD900e for around a year now and use it with my Sony TV and Panny AE100e and I've never once seen this chroma bug thats spoken about! maybe I don't look hard enough;)
    Its a super bit of kit and highly recommend it.

    cheers Steve
     
  30. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,086
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +209
    :hiya:



    I've never seen the chroma bug even with toy story :D






    DVD :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...