Tosh SD220E multiregion hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by michaelab, May 15, 2003.

  1. michaelab

    michaelab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +10
    A friend of mine recently downloaded from the net a firmware multiregion hack for the SD220E - it came in the form of a VCD image file. He burnt the VCD to a CD-R, stuck it in the player and a few seconds the player is region free.

    He says it's worked on his SD220E and has noticed no ill side effects...now I'm wondering whether to try it on my own player :confused: I don't want to risk cocking it up or perhaps 'downgrading' the firmware to an earlier version just to get multiregion capability.

    Anyway, isn't it rather odd that the hack is distributed in VCD format? If I play the VCD on my laptop I just get an image with "nabe The Wizard" on it for a few seconds, and then "Fin". I've googled that and found no hits. Unfortunately my mate can't remember the site where he downloaded the VCD image from :rolleyes: Anyone know anything about this hack and if it can be trusted?

    Are there "one time" remote hacks for the SD220E one can buy?

    Thanks,
    Michael.
     
  2. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,142
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +855
    That sounds extremely strange to me...

    Best use This One!.

    This is known to work and has been used by many people including myself.

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  3. michaelab

    michaelab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks Steve, however, I believe that one's the same thing (it certainly is a VCD hack). I believe that one is a firmware hack that leaves you with firmware version 1.3 whereas my SD220E is at 1.5 - is there anywhere I can find out what was improved/fixed between 1.3 and 1.5?

    Michael.
     
  4. acs1

    acs1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hove
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hack you are talking about is the same one that Richersounds uses, one of the staff members in there did my SD220E for me. Believe me it works!!! saying that the second time he did it in mucked up the NTSC and had to be sent away for repairs!!
     
  5. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,142
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +855
    The link I posted to you is definitely V1.5 of the software.

    Steve
     
  6. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any firmware updates around for the Tosh SD-100E?

    How do I find the current version of f/w - button press?
     
  7. michaelab

    michaelab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just created a new CD-R from the link you posted and the contents are exactly the same. Creates a VCD and if you play the MPEG file part of the VCD (on your PC) there's a very broken up image with the text "nabe The Wizard" (with a little red squiggle next to the word "nabe". That then fades to the text "fin".

    nathan_silly - don't know about the SD100E but on the SD220E you can check the firmware with: 'zoom' 6 0 6 'zoom' on the remote.

    Michael.
     

Share This Page

Loading...