1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tosh lip sync

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by indie24, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +194
    i have tried a search for lip sync toshiba and i couldnt find an answer. Do Toshiba dlp owners have any lip sync issues while connected to an external amplifier? i tried a search on the web and couldnt find any. Also do sagem 45 owners have lip sync problems? if so whats the work around?
     
  2. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    WRT Tosh

    DVD to Amp, none.
    Sky+, a little on news bbc channel?
    Sky to Amp, none.
    PC to Amp, none.
     
  3. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +194
    whats wrt?
     
  4. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    WRT = With Respect To

    Indie what you are seeing is the video signal being delayed by the video processing within the set. This is common with all digital display types, there is variation but it is not by much. Some people notice it more than others, some TVs ensure their speaker output is adequately delayed to combat the issue. However Sky is worse as some channels are already out of sync to begin with, delaying the audio in this case may soften the effect or make it worse!!

    So to combat the issue if you find it becoming a constant nuisance you will need either an audio delay box, or an AV amp that has an audio delay function. TBH you may find you get used to it and will soon forget it's there so don't rush out buying expensive new gear just yet!
     
  5. kourosh

    kourosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +907
    i have no trouble with ntl :)
     
  6. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +194
    its just that i already have a str db790 sony amp and dont want to buy another one just because of the tv. Im on a really tight budget and really cannot afford to go buy "extras" as i have spend 2k on a tv. i mainly watch dvds and sky (not +)
     
  7. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Kourosh - dare I say forget this thread ever exists and don't even tempt yourself to look for it!!

    Indie - give it time mate, you may not need to invest in anything else. You can try delaying your centre channel track by heavily overexaggerating the distance between yourself and speaker. Since all speech and about 70% of overall audio comes through this speaker it may lessen the affect some.
     
  8. andyxxx

    andyxxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kourosh

    as Liam suggests - you may get used to the problem. I have a major lip sync problem on my rd50. It drove me insane for the first few weeks - and you will make yourself worse by looking for it. Having now owned the set for nearly three months I rarely notice it - and then only when it is out massively (I guess half a second upwards)
     
  9. kourosh

    kourosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +907
    im ok i dont have a problem but then again i dont run ntl through the amp i think the tv speakers are good enough to watch tv programes :thumbsup:
     
  10. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +194
    liam - thx for ur advice, but are u saying there is a problem? or is it a hit and miss type of thing? i would prefer no lip sync probs, so is the tosh or sagem better for this?
     
  11. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Indie

    The Sagem has a special Co-ax input and output to combat the issue....feed co-ax digital from DVD into sagem, the from Sagem to Amp...this properly marries sound and picture.

    B.K
     
  12. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    No it is inherent in ALL digital displays - plasma screens, LCD screens and projectors, DLP TVs and projectors. It is the time taken for the on-board video processor to take the interlaced feed, convert it into progressive scan and rescale the signal to fit the resolution of the display itself. Some screens are slightly different to others, but it's such a negligable difference. I imagine Tosh and Sagem will be exactly the same.
     
  13. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    oh there you go, Sagem has something for it... No good for Sky though where you really notice it! (unless you use optical-coax converter or something)
     
  14. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +194
    oh man, i was going for the tosh, but i think it will have to be the sagem due to this one point, i couldnt live with myself if i bought the tosh and it had lip sync probs. looks like i will have to buy the sagem. not my first choice :(
     
  15. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    O dont have any probs with sky+ dvds or xbox, overall i like the tv speakers very nice a bassey.
     
  16. fugitive

    fugitive
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stick with your first choice. I don't have any lip sync probs with dvd, sky or analogue. I would really notice this as it bugs me when I have seen it on dodgy dvds.

    Go for the Tosh it's a beautiful set.
     
  17. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +194
    all of you that are saying no probs with lip sync do u have ur dvd player and tv sound connected to an hc amplifier?
     
  18. fugitive

    fugitive
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup. I don't use the TV speakers at all. I've got the sound coming through a Sony DAVS system.
     
  19. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Liam is there any variation between different sets that are the same model,
    Andyxxx has the same set as me but gets bad lip synch & i get it very rarely.
    wouldn't any difference between our sets be caused more by how you feed the sound into the set ie what amplifier it's connected and input used ?
     
  20. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    I have my sound running through my amp and I have never experianced any problems.... :) I did notice it a few times when I used the internal speakers on my set.
     
  21. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    As you can see from Andy's post, the amount of delay he notices has changed. The set is the same, but the apparantness of it isn't. There is also the factor of some Sky channels being much further out than others before the TVs additional delay becomes a factor.As is often said on the subject, try and forget about it before it drives you to dispair!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...