1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tosh. 36ZT29B - Prog Scan problem?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Cheng, Feb 20, 2003.

  1. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

    I have a 36ZT29B, however I notice whenever I turn on progressive scan I get a combing effect, much like the effect of interlaced? (Fed from a tosh 220 via component).

    Anyone else have this problem or know how to solve it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. phenom2003

    phenom2003
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the toshiba 220 doesn't support proggresive scan
     
  3. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The tv does it internally...
     
  4. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think it does!!!!

    You will need to buy a prog scan DVD player.
     
  5. John-D

    John-D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This TV does have internal Prog-Scan, but has to be set manually in the TV's menu.

    If you had Prog-Scan DVD, it would then switch automatic to P.S.

    John
     
  6. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    Cheng,

    This isn't a problem I'm aware of as I use Progress Mode for all Pal material. I've never seen any combing effect.

    Which picture mode are you using and what sort of material are you watching (NTSC/PAL)?

    What does the picture look like in one of the 100Hz modes?

    Does it improve or degrade the picture using Progress Mode?

    You're better off buying a pro scan DVD player (Tosh 520) and using true pro scan (for NTSC) rather than the set's internal de-interlacer (perrdl - YOU ARE WRONG!).

    Your only other option is to call a service engineer or send it back.
     
  7. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry......I stand corrected. :rolleyes:
     
  8. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    Must.........not.........bite :mad:
     
  9. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
     
  10. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The effects are very similar to this pic;


    [​IMG]

    http://www.progressivescan.co.uk/interlaceddisadvantages.php

    Also:



    Does that mean I can do anything? Or do any of you guys get this?
     
  11. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I can see the lines very visibly upclose however; I sit about 3-4 m away so I can't see them but that's not the point!
     
  12. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Here are some pics:


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, there is a combing effect :mad:
     
  13. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    Very interesting. I can honestly say I haven't seen this problem with any of the five (or was it six) ZDs I owned (temporarily).

    It must be a problem with the internal de-interlacer? As your quote states, the paired images seem out of sync.

    I would be interested to see if Toshiba can come up with an explanation. I'm afraid I am out of ideas (which is unusual).

    bibooo
     
  14. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've emailed them; would it be better to phone; i.e. is their email support crap?
     
  15. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Reply as follows:

    Can you guys definitely confirm that the strata televisions de-interlace internally, so you can play WITHOUT a PS player?

    I know this is pretty obvious, but I don't want to be shouting out facts to a Toshiba Employee to be told that I am wrong.

    Cheers,

    Cheng
     
  16. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    Toshiba are talking b*llocks. I use my SD900e in interlaced mode when watching Pal material, I've never experienced the problems you have.

    Try to talk to someone who knows what they are talking about, the person who emailed you obviously doesn't!
     
  17. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm thinking the stratas don't support 3:2 pulldown, hence why my ntsc movies are buggered...As I said, since I don't have many r2 discs, I haven't noticed it with them...

    I will email them again...

    So the stratas definitely have a internal de-interlacer?
     
  18. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    I don't think that's it either, I have tried NTSC pro scan from my DVD player vs. NTSC interlaced in Progress Mode and the differences (although apparent) were subtle. I have never seen your problem with Pal or NTSC interlaced in Progress Mode.

    The funny thing is, that Toshiba keep going on about Progress Mode being suited to NTSC material only (they are wrong), but in your case NTSC material is causing the problem. Go figure.

    ZDs do have an internal de-interlacer, it does quite a good job of eliminating line structure. Obviously nothing beats the real thing, but you shouldn't be getting the results you have shown.

    IMO you should push for a replacement, but then I would say that, I've had six of them. :rolleyes:
     
  19. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well, this is their reply after I sent them another email!

    This seems to me to be BS about the de-interlacer! :mad: :mad:
     
  20. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    If you feed the TV a true pro scan signal, you will not have the option to select Progress Mode, they are talking utter, utter rubbish.

    It seems they are saying that in order to watch something which is in pro scan, you need to set the TV to Progress Mode. YOU CAN'T SELECT PROGRESS MODE IF IT'S TRUE PROGRESSIVE SCAN (I'm not shouting at you, I'm shouting at the "helpful" person at Toshiba).

    Progress Mode should be used with any interlaced material to give you a "pseudo" progressive scan picture, in other words it has an internal de-interlacer.

    [Swearing removed, do not swear again or you risk being banned. - mod] Toshiba, try to know a little about the products you are manufacturing!
     
  21. Cheng

    Cheng
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Mmmmm....I need more evidence before I can ask for a replacement...

    On another topic, their email support is fantastic, they reply quickly :)
     
  22. kwangomango

    kwangomango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    I too have noticed these combing effects when running my Avia disc via scart, with the tv in "Progress." mode. The Hue/Saturation screen has these saw tooths between the colour blocks. They disappear if you switch to any of the other modes.
    Normally this won't be a problem as i will be watching all of my dvds in 480p from my Philips 963sa. I will soon however, be purchasing a UK Gamecube and am worried that when using the Pal60 mode with "Progress.", these problems will occur. Can anyone confirm whether it is a 60Hz problem or purely an NTSC problem.
    I take it this a "feature" of the tv and not a fault?
     
  23. skirpydoink

    skirpydoink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,244
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +34
    Glad i read this post, this problem is really annoying me.

    I have my Toshiba 520E, my Ntsc-PS2, XBox and GameCube hooked up to this TV with Component Connection.

    I dont have any combing effect when watching DVDs Pal/Ntsc on either Progressive or interlaced, but on all my consoles i get this problem when running in interlaced, the picture is perfect when running in Progressive Scan.

    Is this something i need to put up with or can it be sorted?

    I posted a few times in the original Toshiba 36ZT29 post that got started a while back, i had a problem with my Component Connections breaking off, it did,nt effect my Picture but as it was only a couple of weeks old at the time i phoned Toshiba to get it fixed.

    After a couple of months of phoning and explaining problems with this TV i gave up and did,nt bother anymore. I did,nt want to hand in a TV that was only 2 weeks old to get fixed.

    I really like this TV now that it seems to have settled down but this combing effect while playing console games in interlaced is quite annoying especially as some people dont seem to have it.

    I have tried it on all the picture modes but it does not seem to make any difference.
     
  24. kwangomango

    kwangomango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    Have just got a Gamecube with Zelda and unfortunately the problem is there only when running 60Hz mode with tv in "Progress". The problem appears to be more of a colour bleed issue. All of the red lettering in "Zelda" on the title screen has combing/saw tooth as displayed in the chimney in the picture posted above. It doen't appear to affect any other colours in the image. What is causing this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...